Early day motion 455

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 1999-00
  • Date tabled: 29.02.2000
  • Primary sponsor: Hoyle, Lindsay
  • Sponsors:

    That this House notes with concern the decision taken by Bentwood Ltd. to close two of its manufacturing units in Chorley and Bury which employ 300 workers at the two factories; is aware that production will be moved as a result of the re-organisation of the company; and condemns the Managing Director of Bentwood Ltd. Mr Stephen Phillips, for refusing to meet the local honourable Members and local authorities in order to discuss the closure and the future of the 300 employees.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 36

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 36 out of 36

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 01.03.2000
Barnes, Harry Labour Party North East Derbyshire 02.03.2000
Bermingham, Gerald Labour Party St Helens South 29.02.2000
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 02.03.2000
Brown, Russell Labour Party Dumfries 29.02.2000
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 01.03.2000
Campbell-Savours, DN Labour Party Workington 14.03.2000
Chaytor, David Labour Party Bury North 29.02.2000
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 01.03.2000
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 21.03.2000
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 13.03.2000
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 02.03.2000
Cunliffe, Lawrence Labour Party Leigh 29.02.2000
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 29.02.2000
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 29.02.2000
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 29.02.2000
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 29.02.2000
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 29.02.2000
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 15.03.2000
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 03.03.2000
Kemp, Fraser Labour Party Houghton and Washington East 29.02.2000
Kumar, Ashok Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 13.03.2000
Laxton, Bob Labour Party Derby North 29.02.2000
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 29.02.2000
Mahon, Alice Labour Party Halifax 08.03.2000
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 02.03.2000
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 06.04.2000
McNamara, Kevin Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 09.03.2000
Michie, Bill Labour Party Sheffield Heeley 01.03.2000
Pendry, Tom Labour Party Stalybridge and Hyde 29.02.2000
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 29.02.2000
Rapson, Syd Labour Party Portsmouth North 29.02.2000
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 07.03.2000
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 01.03.2000
Stewart, Ian Labour Party Eccles 29.02.2000
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 07.03.2000