Early day motion 811

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 1998-99
  • Date tabled: 12.07.1999
  • Primary sponsor: Sedgemore, Brian
  • Sponsors:

    That this House condemns leading Tories in Hackney for engaging in electoral fraud in the current by-election in Rectory Ward; believes that it is despicable for Tory councillors to deceive frail, elderly life-long Labour voters into giving proxy votes to Tories by telling them that they are signing a petition to increase pensions; notes that the Electoral Registration Officer has refused to accept as valid proxy votes proven to have been obtained in this manner; is concerned at the great distress caused to the elderly people involved; is aghast that the leading perpetrators of the fraud are Tory Councillor Isaac Leibowitz and his friends backed by the Tory Leader on the Council, Councillor Eric Ollerenshaw OBE who himself fraudulently holds a proxy vote for a life-long Labour voter who has a Labour poster in her window; calls on the police to charge the Tory fraudsters; believes that the Government should take steps to ensure the removal from Councillor Ollerenshaw of his OBE such is the disgrace that he has brought on Hackney; and calls on the Tory Party to expel Councillors Leibowitz and Ollerenshaw from their ranks.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 28

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 28 out of 28

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Barnes, Harry Labour Party North East Derbyshire 15.07.1999
Brown, Russell Labour Party Dumfries 20.07.1999
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 12.07.1999
Campbell-Savours, DN Labour Party Workington 12.07.1999
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 14.07.1999
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 12.07.1999
Cox, Tom Labour Party Tooting 13.07.1999
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 20.07.1999
Cryer, John Labour Party Hornchurch 12.07.1999
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 14.07.1999
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 16.07.1999
Ennis, Jeff Labour Party Barnsley East and Mexborough 22.07.1999
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 16.07.1999
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 19.07.1999
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 12.07.1999
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 22.07.1999
Mackinlay, Andrew Labour Party Thurrock 12.07.1999
Mahon, Alice Labour Party Halifax 15.07.1999
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 21.07.1999
McNamara, Kevin Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 22.07.1999
Michie, Bill Labour Party Sheffield Heeley 13.07.1999
Palmer, Nick Labour Party Broxtowe 20.07.1999
Sedgemore, Brian Labour Party Hackney South and Shoreditch 12.07.1999
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 14.07.1999
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 12.07.1999
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 23.07.1999
Williams, Alan Labour Party Swansea West 20.07.1999
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 13.07.1999