Early day motion 307

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 1998-99
  • Date tabled: 10.02.1999
  • Primary sponsor: Pendry, Tom
  • Sponsors:

    That this House congratulates Stuart Hall on his fortieth year of broadcasting; notes that his unique style has endeared him to millions both in Britain and abroad, that his use of the English language, especially in his football reporting, has made him an icon with the youth of today, that his rich mellifluous voice is redolent of Sinden and Gielgud intertwining Shakespeare, Keats, Wordsworth et al amid the mud and tears at Accrington Stanley, that he recently forced the country into discovering Ozymandias, thus reinventing Percy Bysshe Shelley as a popular poet, that he made 'It's a Knockout', into a surreal, quasi xenophobic art form, that his laughter gave pleasure throughout the run of this programme uniting the youth of this country with the youth on the Continent, and that he has worked solidly for charity during his 40 years of broadcasting, much of which is unknown to most; offers its congratulations to this unique talent, if at times overcome with the 'exuberance of his own verbosity'; and wishes him many more years of broadcasting and laughter.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 79

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 79 out of 79

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 15.02.1999
Barnes, Harry Labour Party North East Derbyshire 10.02.1999
Beggs, Roy Ulster Unionist Party East Antrim 10.02.1999
Benton, Joe Labour Party Bootle 10.02.1999
Bradshaw, Ben Labour Party Exeter 10.02.1999
Brady, Graham Conservative Party Altrincham and Sale West 16.02.1999
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 10.02.1999
Cash, William Conservative Party Stone 10.02.1999
Chapman, Sydney Conservative Party Chipping Barnet 10.02.1999
Clark, David Labour Party South Shields 10.02.1999
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 10.02.1999
Cox, Tom Labour Party Tooting 16.02.1999
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 10.02.1999
Cunliffe, Lawrence Labour Party Leigh 11.02.1999
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 16.02.1999
Day, Stephen Conservative Party Cheadle 10.02.1999
Donohoe, Brian H Labour Party Cunninghame South 10.02.1999
Dunwoody, Gwyneth Labour Party Crewe and Nantwich 16.02.1999
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 10.02.1999
Fearn, Ronnie Liberal Democrats Southport 10.02.1999
Foster, Michael John Labour Party Worcester 15.02.1999
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 10.02.1999
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 10.02.1999
Godman, Norman A Labour Party Greenock and Inverclyde 11.02.1999
Goggins, Paul Labour Party Wythenshawe and Sale East 10.02.1999
Griffiths, Jane Labour Party Reading East 11.02.1999
Griffiths, Nigel Labour Party Edinburgh South 16.02.1999
Grogan, John Labour Party Selby 10.02.1999
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 22.02.1999
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 22.03.1999
Hawkins, Nick Conservative Party Surrey Heath 10.02.1999
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 10.02.1999
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 10.02.1999
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 10.02.1999
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 11.02.1999
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 11.02.1999
Jones, Barry Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 10.02.1999
Keen, Alan Labour Party Feltham and Heston 10.02.1999
Keen, Ann Labour Party Brentford and Isleworth 10.02.1999
Kemp, Fraser Labour Party Houghton and Washington East 16.02.1999
Khabra, Piara S Labour Party Ealing Southall 10.02.1999
Ladyman, Stephen Labour Party South Thanet 10.02.1999
Livingstone, Ken No party affiliation Brent East 05.05.1999
Mackinlay, Andrew Labour Party Thurrock 10.02.1999
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 10.02.1999
Marshall, Jim Labour Party Leicester South 10.02.1999
Maxton, John Labour Party Glasgow Cathcart 10.02.1999
McAllion, John Labour Party Dundee East 11.02.1999
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 05.03.1999
McNamara, Kevin Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 10.02.1999
Michie, Bill Labour Party Sheffield Heeley 11.02.1999
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 10.02.1999
Moonie, Lewis Labour Party Kirkcaldy 16.02.1999
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 10.02.1999
Olner, Bill Labour Party Nuneaton 10.02.1999
Pearson, Ian Labour Party Dudley South 10.02.1999
Pendry, Tom Labour Party Stalybridge and Hyde 10.02.1999
Perham, Linda Labour Party Ilford North 15.02.1999
Pike, Peter L Labour Party Burnley 10.02.1999
Powell, Ray Labour Party Ogmore 10.02.1999
Quinn, Lawrie Labour Party Scarborough and Whitby 10.02.1999
Rammell, Bill Labour Party Harlow 10.02.1999
Randall, John Conservative Party Uxbridge 16.02.1999
Rapson, Syd Labour Party Portsmouth North 10.02.1999
Ross, Ernie Labour Party Dundee West 10.02.1999
Ruffley, David Conservative Party Bury St Edmunds 10.02.1999
Salter, Martin Labour Party Reading West 11.02.1999
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 16.02.1999
Smith, Geraldine Labour Party Morecambe and Lunesdale 16.02.1999
Todd, Mark Labour Party South Derbyshire 10.02.1999
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 10.02.1999
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 10.02.1999
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 10.02.1999
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 10.02.1999
Winnick, David Labour Party Walsall North 10.02.1999
Winterton, Ann Conservative Party Congleton 22.02.1999
Winterton, Ann Independent Conservative Congleton 22.02.1999
Winterton, Nicholas Conservative Party Macclesfield 22.02.1999
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 10.02.1999