Early day motion 694

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 1997-98
  • Date tabled: 26.01.1998
  • Primary sponsor: Clapham, Michael
  • Sponsors:

    That this House congratulates the mining unions and their solicitors on their successful court action on behalf of coal miners suffering from chronic bronchitis and emphysema and which clearly establishes that British Coal were negligent by failing to take appropriate steps to minimise the dust to which miners were exposed; also welcomes the Government's response to the judgement; and urges them to speedily introduce a no faults compensation scheme with a fast track procedure for cases of serious illness.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 119

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 119 out of 119

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 26.01.1998
Allan, Richard Liberal Democrats Sheffield Hallam 17.02.1998
Anderson, Donald Labour Party Swansea East 02.02.1998
Ashton, Joseph Labour Party Bassetlaw 09.02.1998
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 29.01.1998
Barnes, Harry Labour Party North East Derbyshire 30.01.1998
Beard, Nigel Labour Party Bexleyheath and Crayford 09.02.1998
Beggs, Roy Ulster Unionist Party East Antrim 28.01.1998
Bell, Stuart Labour Party Middlesbrough 26.01.1998
Benn, Tony Labour Party Chesterfield 11.02.1998
Berry, Roger Labour Party Kingswood 26.01.1998
Best, Harold Labour Party Leeds North West 26.01.1998
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 09.02.1998
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 10.02.1998
Brown, Russell Labour Party Dumfries 12.02.1998
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 04.02.1998
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 04.02.1998
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 11.02.1998
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 26.01.1998
Campbell-Savours, DN Labour Party Workington 18.03.1998
Cann, Jamie Labour Party Ipswich 18.02.1998
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 26.01.1998
Clarke, Eric Labour Party Midlothian 26.01.1998
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 26.01.1998
Coleman, Iain Labour Party Hammersmith and Fulham 02.02.1998
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 26.01.1998
Cooper, Yvette Labour Party Pontefract and Castleford 05.02.1998
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 30.01.1998
Cotter, Brian Liberal Democrats Weston-super-Mare 24.02.1998
Cox, Tom Labour Party Tooting 30.01.1998
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 04.02.1998
Cryer, John Labour Party Hornchurch 26.01.1998
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 30.01.1998
Cunliffe, Lawrence Labour Party Leigh 28.01.1998
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 17.02.1998
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow Pollok 26.01.1998
Davies, Denzil Labour Party Llanelli 23.03.1998
Dawson, Hilton Labour Party Lancaster and Wyre 05.02.1998
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 09.02.1998
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 27.01.1998
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 29.01.1998
Eagle, Maria Labour Party Liverpool Garston 16.02.1998
Ennis, Jeff Labour Party Barnsley East and Mexborough 26.01.1998
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 26.01.1998
Fitzpatrick, Jim Labour Party Poplar and Canning Town 04.02.1998
Fyfe, Maria Labour Party Glasgow Maryhill 05.02.1998
Galloway, George Labour Party Glasgow Kelvin 04.02.1998
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 28.01.1998
Gilroy, Linda Labour Party Plymouth Sutton 26.01.1998
Godman, Norman A Labour Party Greenock and Inverclyde 26.01.1998
Golding, Llin Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 29.01.1998
Gunnell, John Labour Party Morley and Rothwell 23.02.1998
Harris, Evan Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 02.03.1998
Healey, John Labour Party Wentworth 09.02.1998
Hinchliffe, David Labour Party Wakefield 28.01.1998
Hood, Jim Labour Party Clydesdale 26.01.1998
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 29.01.1998
Hume, John Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 01.04.1998
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 26.01.1998
Jackson, Helen Labour Party Sheffield Hillsborough 26.01.1998
Jones, Barry Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 27.01.1998
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 27.01.1998
Jones, Nigel Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 26.02.1998
Keeble, Sally Labour Party Northampton North 26.01.1998
Keen, Ann Labour Party Brentford and Isleworth 11.02.1998
Kidney, David Labour Party Stafford 04.02.1998
Kumar, Ashok Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 02.02.1998
Leslie, Chris Labour Party Shipley 26.01.1998
Livingstone, Ken No party affiliation Brent East 28.01.1998
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 26.01.1998
Mahon, Alice Labour Party Halifax 27.01.1998
Marek, John Labour Party Wrexham 05.02.1998
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 06.02.1998
McAllion, John Labour Party Dundee East 17.02.1998
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 06.02.1998
McNamara, Kevin Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 12.02.1998
McNulty, Tony Labour Party Harrow East 26.01.1998
Michie, Bill Labour Party Sheffield Heeley 28.01.1998
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 12.02.1998
Morgan, Alasdair Scottish National Party Galloway and Upper Nithsdale 29.01.1998
Morgan, Julie Labour Party Cardiff North 09.02.1998
Morgan, Rhodri Labour Party Cardiff West 29.01.1998
Murphy, Denis Labour Party Wansbeck 26.01.1998
Norris, Dan Labour Party Wansdyke 28.01.1998
O'Brien, William Labour Party Normanton 29.01.1998
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 11.02.1998
Olner, Bill Labour Party Nuneaton 05.02.1998
O'Neill, Martin Labour Party Ochil 12.02.1998
Plaskitt, James Labour Party Warwick and Leamington 09.02.1998
Pond, Chris Labour Party Gravesham 30.03.1998
Quinn, Lawrie Labour Party Scarborough and Whitby 26.01.1998
Rogers, Allan Labour Party Rhondda 28.04.1998
Ross, Ernie Labour Party Dundee West 28.01.1998
Rowlands, Ted Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 26.01.1998
Roy, Frank Labour Party Motherwell and Wishaw 10.02.1998
Salter, Martin Labour Party Reading West 27.01.1998
Sawford, Phil Labour Party Kettering 11.02.1998
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 05.02.1998
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 26.01.1998
Southworth, Helen Labour Party Warrington South 26.01.1998
Steinberg, Gerry Labour Party City of Durham 27.01.1998
Stinchcombe, Paul Labour Party Wellingborough 30.01.1998
Swinney, John Scottish National Party North Tayside 29.01.1998
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 05.02.1998
Thomas, Gareth (Harrow West) Labour Party Harrow West 27.01.1998
Tipping, Paddy Labour Party Sherwood 26.01.1998
Todd, Mark Labour Party South Derbyshire 05.02.1998
Turner, Dennis Labour Party Wolverhampton South East 05.02.1998
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 17.02.1998
Twigg, Derek Labour Party Halton 27.01.1998
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 02.02.1998
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 26.01.1998
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 26.01.1998
Wigley, Dafydd Plaid Cymru Caernarfon 29.01.1998
Williams, Alan W Labour Party Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 29.01.1998
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 28.01.1998
Winnick, David Labour Party Walsall North 26.01.1998
Winterton, Rosie Labour Party Doncaster Central 26.01.1998
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 10.02.1998