Early day motion 589

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 1996-97
  • Date tabled: 27.02.1997
  • Primary sponsor: Mitchell, Austin
  • Sponsors:

    That this House, concerned that the States of Jersey have suspended Senator Stuart Syvret for drawing attention to the vested interest of former Senator Jeune, President of the Policy and Resources Committee, whose law firm Mourant du Feu and Jeune was promoting a controversial Limited Liability Partnership Bill on behalf of Price Waterhouse and Ernst and Young, and participating in a speeded up passage for it; notes with regret that the States have agreed to a proposal by Senator F H Walker, proprietor of the Jersey newspaper, to force Senator Syvret to withdraw allegations which are essentially true, and to expel him if he refuses, a draconian penalty that would never be used in similar circumstances in this House and which defies the UN Convention on Human Rights, guaranteeing the rights of citizens to take part in public affairs through their freely chosen representatives and the European Convention on Human Rights, specifying that all citizens are entitled to a fair and public hearing which Senator Syvret has not had; further notes that the indictment quotes extracts from Syvret's letters to the Home Office and regrets that the representative of the British Government, the Lieutenant Governor, instead of acting independently, has acted with the Jersey establishment of which he is a part in condemning Syvret; and calls on the States to act with sense, and a due regard for democratic rights by restoring Senator Syvret to full membership and on the Home Secretary to ensure good democratic governance in Jersey.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 46

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 46 out of 46

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ashton, Joseph Labour Party Bassetlaw 28.02.1997
Benn, Tony Labour Party Chesterfield 27.02.1997
Body, Richard Conservative Party Boston and Skegness 27.02.1997
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 04.03.1997
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 04.03.1997
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 13.03.1997
Clarke, Eric Labour Party Midlothian 05.03.1997
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Falkirk East 10.03.1997
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 28.02.1997
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 05.03.1997
Corston, Jean Labour Party Bristol East 05.03.1997
Cousins, Jim Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne Central 27.02.1997
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 03.03.1997
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 04.03.1997
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow Pollok 03.03.1997
Davis, Terry Labour Party Birmingham Hodge Hill 28.02.1997
Dunwoody, Gwyneth Labour Party Crewe and Nantwich 13.03.1997
Eagle, Angela Labour Party Wallasey 04.03.1997
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 06.03.1997
Evans, John Labour Party St Helens North 03.03.1997
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 28.02.1997
Foulkes, George Labour Party Carrick Cumnock and Doon Valley 28.02.1997
Godman, Norman A Labour Party Greenock and Inverclyde 03.03.1997
Golding, Llin Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 06.03.1997
Gorman, Teresa Conservative Party Billericay 18.03.1997
Gunnell, John Labour Party Morley and Rothwell 05.03.1997
Hill, Keith Labour Party Streatham 03.03.1997
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 04.03.1997
Jones, Martyn Labour Party Clwyd South 18.03.1997
Livingstone, Ken No party affiliation Brent East 28.02.1997
Mackinlay, Andrew Labour Party Thurrock 06.03.1997
MacShane, Denis Labour Party Rotherham 03.03.1997
McNamara, Kevin Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 06.03.1997
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 05.03.1997
Michie, Bill Labour Party Sheffield Heeley 03.03.1997
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 27.02.1997
Morley, Elliot Labour Party Scunthorpe 10.03.1997
Mullin, Chris Labour Party Sunderland South 06.03.1997
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 06.03.1997
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 03.03.1997
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 04.03.1997
Taylor, Teddy Conservative Party Rochford and Southend East 27.02.1997
Tyler, Paul Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 27.02.1997
Wilkinson, John Conservative Party Ruislip-Northwood 04.03.1997
Williams, Alan W Labour Party Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 03.03.1997
Wright, Tony Labour Party Cannock Chase 03.03.1997