Early day motion 775

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 1995-96
  • Date tabled: 23.04.1996
  • Primary sponsor: Meale, Alan
  • Sponsors:

    That this House is appalled by the decision of the Ministry of Defence to fund in full the estimated ú500,000 minimal costs associated with the scrambling of television pictures broadcast in Cyprus via the Sight and Sound Vision Corporation for servicemen and women posted to the Island; and believes it to be a complete waste of public funds and not in the interests of good public relations for Britain in the Republic of Cyprus, especially amongst the large British ex-patriate community, other British passport holders and the majority of Cypriots who speak the English language.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 54

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 54 out of 54

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Adams, Irene Labour Party Paisley North 23.04.1996
Banks, Tony Labour Party West Ham 23.04.1996
Barnes, Harry Labour Party North East Derbyshire 24.04.1996
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party City of York 23.04.1996
Bermingham, Gerald Labour Party St Helens South 23.04.1996
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 30.04.1996
Caborn, Richard Labour Party Sheffield Central 23.04.1996
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 23.04.1996
Chidgey, David Liberal Democrats Eastleigh 17.06.1996
Church, Judith Labour Party Dagenham 23.04.1996
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 23.04.1996
Clarke, Eric Labour Party Midlothian 23.04.1996
Coffey, Ann Labour Party Stockport 23.04.1996
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Falkirk East 24.04.1996
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow Pollok 09.05.1996
Donohoe, Brian H Labour Party Cunninghame South 23.04.1996
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 23.04.1996
Evans, John Labour Party St Helens North 29.04.1996
Godman, Norman A Labour Party Greenock and Inverclyde 24.04.1996
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Sparkbrook and Small Heath 08.05.1996
Golding, Llin Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 16.05.1996
Graham, Thomas Scottish Labour Party West Renfrewshire 23.04.1996
Griffiths, Win Labour Party Bridgend 25.04.1996
Gunnell, John Labour Party Morley and Rothwell 23.04.1996
Hall, Mike Labour Party Weaver Vale 24.04.1996
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 22.05.1996
Heppell, John Labour Party Nottingham East 23.04.1996
Hood, Jim Labour Party Clydesdale 23.04.1996
Hughes, Kevin Labour Party Doncaster North 23.04.1996
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 02.05.1996
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 23.04.1996
Jones, Martyn Labour Party Clwyd South 30.04.1996
Livingstone, Ken No party affiliation Brent East 25.04.1996
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 23.04.1996
MacShane, Denis Labour Party Rotherham 24.04.1996
McAllion, John Labour Party Dundee East 23.04.1996
McCartney, Ian Labour Party Makerfield 30.04.1996
McCartney, Robert United Kingdom Unionist Party North Down 02.05.1996
McWilliam, John Labour Party Blaydon 09.05.1996
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 23.04.1996
Michie, Bill Labour Party Sheffield Heeley 24.04.1996
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 23.04.1996
Morley, Elliot Labour Party Scunthorpe 23.04.1996
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 23.04.1996
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 23.04.1996
Olner, Bill Labour Party Nuneaton 23.04.1996
Pickthall, Colin Labour Party West Lancashire 23.04.1996
Powell, Ray Labour Party Ogmore 23.04.1996
Ross, Ernie Labour Party Dundee West 23.04.1996
Snape, Peter Labour Party West Bromwich East 23.04.1996
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 23.04.1996
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 23.04.1996
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 23.04.1996
Wray, Jimmy Labour Party Glasgow Baillieston 23.04.1996