Early day motion 109

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 1993-94
  • Date tabled: 25.11.1993
  • Primary sponsor: Bayley, Hugh
  • Sponsors:

    That this House congratulates Rachel Whiteread on winning the Turner Prize as best modern artist of the year; recognises that good art is often challenging and controversial; believes it would be an act of intolerance and philistinism to destroy her sculpture in Grove Road, Bow before more people have had the opportunity to see it; and calls upon Tower Hamlets Council to allow it to remain for three months and during that time to consult local people about whether or not it should be destroyed.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 42

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 42 out of 42

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 30.11.1993
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 01.12.1993
Banks, Tony Labour Party West Ham 30.11.1993
Battle, John Labour Party Leeds West 30.11.1993
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party City of York 25.11.1993
Caborn, Richard Labour Party Sheffield Central 08.12.1993
Campbell, Anne Labour Party Cambridge 30.11.1993
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 01.12.1993
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 30.11.1993
Clarke, Eric Labour Party Midlothian 29.11.1993
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 29.11.1993
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 02.12.1993
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 30.11.1993
Eagle, Angela Labour Party Wallasey 06.12.1993
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 30.11.1993
Fisher, Mark Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent Central 30.11.1993
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 30.11.1993
Griffiths, Nigel Labour Party Edinburgh South 30.11.1993
Gunnell, John Labour Party Morley and Rothwell 08.12.1993
Hanson, David Labour Party Delyn 30.11.1993
Howarth, Alan Labour Party Newport East 29.11.1993
Hutton, John Labour Party Barrow and Furness 02.12.1993
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 29.11.1993
Jones, Barry Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 30.11.1993
Jones, Martyn Labour Party Clwyd South 14.12.1993
Jowell, Tessa Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 30.11.1993
Livingstone, Ken No party affiliation Brent East 26.11.1993
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 30.11.1993
Mahon, Alice Labour Party Halifax 30.11.1993
Maxton, John Labour Party Glasgow Cathcart 30.11.1993
McCartney, Ian Labour Party Makerfield 08.12.1993
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 29.11.1993
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 30.11.1993
Pickthall, Colin Labour Party West Lancashire 30.11.1993
Pike, Peter L Labour Party Burnley 30.11.1993
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 30.11.1993
Radice, Giles Labour Party North Durham 30.11.1993
Salmond, Alex Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan 30.11.1993
Tipping, Paddy Labour Party Sherwood 30.11.1993
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 14.12.1993
Wicks, Malcolm Labour Party Croydon North 30.11.1993
Wigley, Dafydd Plaid Cymru Caernarfon 30.11.1993