Early day motion 2144

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 1992-93
  • Date tabled: 10.06.1993
  • Primary sponsor: Corston, Jean
  • Sponsors:

    That this House considers that rape and unlawful sexual intercourse are serious crimes warranting commensurate sentences; notes that in sentencing a man who had pleaded guilty to unlawful sexual intercourse with a child aged eight, Judge Ian Starforth Hill said he took into account the fact that 'this girl was not entirely an angel'; believes that such opinions and statements are entirely unacceptable in any person holding or aspiring to judicial office; and therefore calls on the Lord Chancellor to dismiss Judge Starforth Hill without delay.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 74

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 74 out of 74

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Adams, Irene Labour Party Paisley North 10.06.1993
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 14.06.1993
Armstrong, Hilary Labour Party North West Durham 10.06.1993
Ashton, Joseph Labour Party Bassetlaw 10.06.1993
Banks, Tony Labour Party West Ham 10.06.1993
Barnes, Harry Labour Party North East Derbyshire 11.06.1993
Bradley, Keith Labour Party Manchester Withington 15.06.1993
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 10.06.1993
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 15.06.1993
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 10.06.1993
Clarke, Eric Labour Party Midlothian 10.06.1993
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 11.06.1993
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Falkirk East 15.06.1993
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 14.06.1993
Corston, Jean Labour Party Bristol East 10.06.1993
Cox, Tom Labour Party Tooting 21.06.1993
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 10.06.1993
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow Pollok 17.06.1993
Denham, John Labour Party Southampton Itchen 23.06.1993
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West 16.06.1993
Dunwoody, Gwyneth Labour Party Crewe and Nantwich 10.06.1993
Eagle, Angela Labour Party Wallasey 10.06.1993
Evans, John Labour Party St Helens North 14.06.1993
Fyfe, Maria Labour Party Glasgow Maryhill 10.06.1993
George, Bruce Labour Party Walsall South 12.07.1993
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Sparkbrook and Small Heath 05.07.1993
Golding, Llin Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 10.06.1993
Graham, Thomas Scottish Labour Party West Renfrewshire 10.06.1993
Griffiths, Nigel Labour Party Edinburgh South 10.06.1993
Griffiths, Win Labour Party Bridgend 15.06.1993
Gunnell, John Labour Party Morley and Rothwell 23.06.1993
Hall, Mike Labour Party Weaver Vale 16.06.1993
Heppell, John Labour Party Nottingham East 10.06.1993
Hoon, Geoffrey Labour Party Ashfield 10.06.1993
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley North and Sefton East 10.06.1993
Hughes, Kevin Labour Party Doncaster North 10.06.1993
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 10.06.1993
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 10.06.1993
Jackson, Helen Labour Party Sheffield Hillsborough 10.06.1993
Jones, Barry Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 14.06.1993
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 10.06.1993
Jones, Martyn Labour Party Clwyd South 01.07.1993
Jowell, Tessa Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 10.06.1993
Khabra, Piara S Labour Party Ealing Southall 10.06.1993
Kilfoyle, Peter Labour Party Liverpool Walton 15.06.1993
Lewis, Terry Labour Party Worsley 17.06.1993
Livingstone, Ken No party affiliation Brent East 14.06.1993
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 13.07.1993
Mahon, Alice Labour Party Halifax 10.06.1993
McAllion, John Labour Party Dundee East 15.06.1993
McCartney, Ian Labour Party Makerfield 15.06.1993
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 10.06.1993
Michie, Bill Labour Party Sheffield Heeley 17.06.1993
Milburn, Alan Labour Party Darlington 22.06.1993
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 10.06.1993
Mullin, Chris Labour Party Sunderland South 10.06.1993
O'Brien, Mike Labour Party North Warwickshire 10.06.1993
O'Brien, William Labour Party Normanton 10.06.1993
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 16.06.1993
Pickthall, Colin Labour Party West Lancashire 16.06.1993
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 24.06.1993
Prentice, Bridget Labour Party Lewisham East 10.06.1993
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 10.06.1993
Primarolo, Dawn Labour Party Bristol South 10.06.1993
Roche, Barbara Labour Party Hornsey and Wood Green 10.06.1993
Ross, Ernie Labour Party Dundee West 15.06.1993
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 17.06.1993
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 10.06.1993
Soley, Clive Labour Party Ealing, Acton and Shepherd's Bush 10.06.1993
Steinberg, Gerry Labour Party City of Durham 16.06.1993
Turner, Dennis Labour Party Wolverhampton South East 15.06.1993
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 10.06.1993
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 10.06.1993
Wray, Jimmy Labour Party Glasgow Baillieston 10.06.1993