Early day motion 15

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 1992-93
  • Date tabled: 06.05.1992
  • Primary sponsor: Mitchell, Austin
  • Sponsors:

    That this House congratulates the Right honourable Christopher Patten on his appointment as the next Governor of Hong Kong and wishes him every success in this crucial role; notes the difficult task ahead and the care with which relations between Britain, Hong Kong and China need to be handled; recognises with satisfaction that Chris Patten has committed himself to safeguarding the future interests of the people of Hong Kong and welcomes his strong personal commitment to freedom of the individual, democracy and universal suffrage; and urges Mr Patten and Her Majesty's Government to work with China to ensure that by 1997 Hong Kong is established as a free and democratic society as well as a prosperous, vigorous economy because both together will be the best basis for the continuing stability and confidence on which the pledge of one nation, two systems, must rest.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 30

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 30 out of 30

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ashton, Joseph Labour Party Bassetlaw 22.05.1992
Atkinson, David Conservative Party Bournemouth East 04.06.1992
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party City of York 14.05.1992
Beggs, Roy Ulster Unionist Party East Antrim 13.05.1992
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 12.05.1992
Bruce, Ian Conservative Party South Dorset 14.05.1992
Clark, Michael Conservative Party Rayleigh 13.05.1992
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge and Chryston 13.05.1992
Clifton-Brown, Geoffrey Conservative Party Cotswold 14.05.1992
Cormack, Patrick Conservative Party South Staffordshire 14.05.1992
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 15.05.1992
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 02.06.1992
Gorman, Teresa Conservative Party Billericay 06.05.1992
Hill, Keith Labour Party Streatham 15.05.1992
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats North Southwark and Bermondsey 14.05.1992
Jones, Nigel Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 15.05.1992
Kennedy, Charles Liberal Democrats Ross Skye and Inverness West 06.05.1992
Kennedy, Jane Labour Party Liverpool Wavertree 14.05.1992
Khabra, Piara S Labour Party Ealing Southall 13.05.1992
Mackinlay, Andrew Labour Party Thurrock 15.05.1992
Mandelson, Peter Labour Party Hartlepool 12.05.1992
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 06.05.1992
Robathan, Andrew Conservative Party Blaby 20.05.1992
Rowe, Andrew Conservative Party Faversham and Mid Kent 21.05.1992
Smyth, Martin Ulster Unionist Party Belfast South 12.05.1992
Tyler, Paul Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 14.05.1992
Walker, A Cecil Ulster Unionist Party Belfast North 04.06.1992
Wallace, James Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 19.05.1992
Waterson, Nigel Conservative Party Eastbourne 11.05.1992
Wright, Tony Labour Party Cannock Chase 19.05.1992