Transport, Telecoms and Energy Council:Written statement - HCWS743

Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport
Made on: 07 June 2018
Made by: Margot James (Minister of State, Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport)

Transport, Telecoms and Energy Council

The Transport, Telecoms and Energy Council (TTE) will take place in Luxembourg. Lord Ashton of Hyde will represent the UK at the Telecoms session of the Council on 8 June.

This Council will begin with a progress report/policy debate on the proposed regulation concerning ePrivacy.

This meeting of the Council will then ask Member States to vote on a General Approach (GA) on the Cybersecurity Act Regulation. DCMS has deposited clearance/waiver requests with the European Scrutiny Committee (ESC) & European Union Committee (EUC) and will hope to support this GA at Council.

This session of the Council will also hold a policy debate on the directive on the re-use of Public Sector Information (PSI).

Also tabled for this session is information from the Presidency on the directive on the European Electronic Communications Code (EECC) [Recast], and the regulation on the Body of European Regulators for Electronic Communications (BEREC).

In addition, information will be provided from the Commission on the state of play of the Digital Single Market (DSM).

To conclude this session of the Council, there will be information from the Austrian delegation, setting out their work programme as the incoming Presidency for the second half of 2018.

Share this page