Institutes of Technology and Specialist Maths Schools: Location:Written question - 280435

(Barnsley East)

Named Day

'Named day' questions only occur in the House of Commons. The MP tabling the question specifies the date on which they should receive an answer. MPs may not table more than five named day questions on a single day.

Asked on: 22 July 2019
Department for Education
Institutes of Technology and Specialist Maths Schools: Location
To ask the Secretary of State for Education, what the locations are of (a) specialist maths schools and (b) Institutes of Technology; and whether it is his policy to ensure that every major city in England has each of those institutions.
Answered by: Nick Gibb
Answered on: 31 July 2019
Holding answer received on 25 July 2019

There are two open maths schools located in London and Exeter. Four more schools are in the pre-opening stage and will be located in Cambridge, Liverpool, Surrey and Lancashire. The Department is developing a network of new maths schools across England, working with leading universities and building on the success of the two open schools. The Government is committed to opening more maths schools.

Details on the 12 Institutes of Technology that the Department has announced can be found at the following link:

The Department has acknowledged that there might be some areas of the country where there were no proposals that met our quality standard in this competition. The Department will review the extent of geographical ‘cold spots’ in Institutes of Technology provision to determine whether a future competition should be considered.

Share this page