Diplomatic Service: EU Countries:Written question - 196145

Asked by Helen Goodman
(Bishop Auckland)

Named Day

'Named day' questions only occur in the House of Commons. The MP tabling the question specifies the date on which they should receive an answer. MPs may not table more than five named day questions on a single day.

Asked on: 27 November 2018
Foreign and Commonwealth Office
Diplomatic Service: EU Countries
To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs, pursuant to the Answer of 26 November 2018 Question 193410 on Diplomatic Service: EU Countries, in which countries UK citizens do not have any direct national representation.
Answered by: Harriett Baldwin
Answered on: 03 December 2018

Further to my previous reply, there are 39 countries where we have no direct representation, but which are covered by other Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) Embassies in the region. These are: Andorra, Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Comoros, Congo, Djibouti, Dominica, East Timor, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Grenada, Guinea Bissau, Honduras, Kiribati, Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Monaco, Nauru, Nicaragua, Niger, Palau, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, St Kitts & Nevis, St Vincent & The Grenadines, Suriname, eSwatini, Togo, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.

On 31 October, the Foreign Secretary announced the biggest strengthening of our diplomatic network for around 20 years. We will open 11 new Posts by the end of 2020: Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Djibouti, Grenada, Lesotho, Niger, Samoa, St Vincent & The Grenadines, eSwatini, Tonga and Vanuatu.

People who need assistance can call any of our embassies, high commissions or consulates, or the FCO switchboard, 24/7 for advice or help.

Share this page