Assessments:Written question - 180149

Asked by David Simpson
(Upper Bann)
Asked on: 16 October 2018
Department for Education
To ask the Secretary of State for Education, how many examining boards are using the (a) A* to E and (b) numeral grading system.
Answered by: Nick Gibb
Answered on: 24 October 2018

There are four exam boards that offer GCSEs and A levels in England and Wales: AQA, Pearson, OCR, and WJEC. In Northern Ireland, GCSEs and A levels are also offered by the Council for the Curriculum, Examinations and Assessment (CCEA).

Exam boards in England, Wales and Northern Ireland all use the A*-E grading scale for A level qualifications.

For GCSE qualifications, the grade scale varies across the three countries. In England, the four exam boards are all using the 9-1 grading scale for reformed GCSEs as they are rolled out. Most GCSEs in Wales and Northern Ireland use an A*-G grading scale. A full explanation is available at:

Share this page