Academies: Closures:Written question - 129804

Asked by Lucy Powell
(Manchester Central)
Asked on: 26 February 2018
Department for Education
Academies: Closures
To ask the Secretary of State for Education, which (a) free schools, (b) studio schools (c) and university technical colleges have closed since 2010; what the cost to the public purse was of each of those closures; and what each of those sites has been used for since each school closure.
Answered by: Nick Gibb
Answered on: 06 March 2018

As of 27 February 2018, there are 391 open free schools, 35 studio schools and 49 university technical colleges (UTCs), which will provide over 256,000 places when at capacity.

Since 2010, eight free schools, seven UTCs and 16 studio schools have closed. The primary objective of the Department when making a decision to close a school is to ensure the best possible educational outcomes for pupils and to secure value for money for the taxpayer.

The list attached has details on how the sites for those schools have since been used. The Department’s published accounts explain any assets that were written off because they could not be reused or recovered.

Site Information Regarding School Closures (Word Document, 18.26 KB)

Share this page