National Clinical Directors:Written question - 23872

Asked by Nic Dakin
Asked on: 25 January 2016
Department of Health
National Clinical Directors
To ask the Secretary of State for Health, how many National Clinical Directors will be appointed; and what areas those National Clinical Directors will cover after April 2016.
Answered by: George Freeman
Answered on: 01 February 2016

NHS England will be supported by 17 National Clinical Directors (NCDs) from 1 April 2016. 14 of these roles have been advertised and will be newly appointed. Three NCDs will continue in post into 2016/17; these are NCDs for Maternity and Women’s Health, Learning Disabilities and Innovation. The 17 roles are:

National Clinical Director (Major Programmes):

— Cancer

— Mental Health

— Diabetes and Obesity

— Learning Disabilities

— Urgent and Emergency Care

— Maternity and Women’s Health

— Innovation

National Clinical Director (Service Improvement):

― Cardiac Services

― Stroke

― Respiratory

― End of Life Care

― Diagnostics, including Imaging and Endoscopy

― Musculoskeletal

― Dementia

― Emergency Preparedness and Critical Care

National Clinical Director (Population Groups):

— Children, Young People and Transition to Adulthood

— Older People and Integrated Person-Centred Care

Share this page