Malaysia: Military Alliances:Written question - 2257

(Mid Sussex)
Asked on: 11 June 2015
Ministry of Defence
Malaysia: Military Alliances
To ask the Secretary of State for Defence, whether the Five Power Defence Arrangements cover the defence of Malaysia's exclusive economic zone; and if he will make a statement.
Answered by: Mr Julian Brazier
Answered on: 17 June 2015

Under the Five Powers Defence Arrangements, the five powers (Australia, New Zealand, Malaysia, Singapore and the UK) are to consult each other "immediately" in the event or threat of an armed attack on Malaysia or Singapore for the purpose of deciding what measures should be taken jointly or separately in response. There is no specific commitment to intervene militarily. The Five Powers Defence Arrangements do not refer to exclusive economic zones (EEZ) and the enforcement of a state's EEZ rights is a matter for that state; a state may request the assistance of other states in so doing.

Share this page