House of Lords Journal

Select a session:

2012-13 (245)

Wednesday 25 July 2012


Criminal Injuries Compensation Scheme 2012

Baroness Royall of Blaisdon moved, as an amendment to the motion that the draft Criminal Injuries Compensation Scheme 2012 be approved, at the end to insert, “but that this House regrets that, despite the Government’s claims to be on the side of victims, this scheme would actually cut financial compensation for an estimated 92 per cent of victims of crime, many of whom will be considerably worse off through no fault of their own and will find redress much more difficult in the future because of cuts to legal aid; and also expresses concern over the ability of the Government to levy a substantial surcharge on offenders.” The House divided:
Contents 117
Not-contents 171


Anderson of Swansea, L.Andrews, B.Bach, L.
Bakewell, B.Bassam of Brighton, L. [Teller]Berkeley, L.
Bilston, L.Birt, L.Borrie, L.
Brookman, L.Browne of Ladyton, L.Campbell of Surbiton, B.
Christopher, L.Clinton-Davis, L.Cohen of Pimlico, B.
Collins of Highbury, L.Davies of Coity, L.Davies of Oldham, L.
Davies of Stamford, L.Dean of Thornton-le-Fylde, B.Deech, B.
Donaghy, B.Drake, B.Dubs, L.
Eames, L.Eatwell, L.Erroll, E.
Farrington of Ribbleton, B.Gale, B.Glasman, L.
Gordon of Strathblane, L.Grantchester, L.Grenfell, L.
Griffiths of Burry Port, L.Grocott, L.Hanworth, V.
Harries of Pentregarth, L.Harris of Haringey, L.Harrison, L.
Hart of Chilton, L.Hayter of Kentish Town, B.Healy of Primrose Hill, B.
Henig, B.Hilton of Eggardon, B.Hollins, B.
Howarth of Breckland, B.Howarth of Newport, L.Howe of Idlicote, B.
Howells of St Davids, B.Hughes of Woodside, L.Hunt of Kings Heath, L.
Irvine of Lairg, L.Janner of Braunstone, L.Jay of Ewelme, L.
Jones of Whitchurch, B.Judd, L.Kennedy of Southwark, L.
Kennedy of The Shaws, B.King of Bow, B.King of West Bromwich, L.
Kinnock of Holyhead, B.Kirkhill, L.Knight of Weymouth, L.
Laming, L.Lea of Crondall, L.Lister of Burtersett, B.
Low of Dalston, L.McAvoy, L.McConnell of Glenscorrodale, L.
Macdonald of Tradeston, L.McFall of Alcluith, L.McIntosh of Hudnall, B.
MacKenzie of Culkein, L.Mackenzie of Framwellgate, L.McKenzie of Luton, L.
Masham of Ilton, B.Morris of Manchester, L.Morris of Yardley, B.
O'Loan, B.Pendry, L.Pitkeathley, B.
Plant of Highfield, L.Prescott, L.Puttnam, L.
Radice, L.Ramsay of Cartvale, B.Rea, L.
Reid of Cardowan, L.Rosser, L.Royall of Blaisdon, B.
Sandwich, E.Sawyer, L.Simon, V.
Smith of Basildon, B.Smith of Finsbury, L.Stevenson of Balmacara, L.
Stoddart of Swindon, L.Stone of Blackheath, L.Symons of Vernham Dean, B.
Temple-Morris, L.Thornton, B.Tomlinson, L.
Tonge, B.Tunnicliffe, L. [Teller]Turnberg, L.
Uddin, B.Wall of New Barnet, B.Walpole, L.
Watson of Invergowrie, L.Wheeler, B.Whitaker, B.
Whitty, L.Williams of Elvel, L.Wood of Anfield, L.
Worthington, B.


Alderdice, L.Allan of Hallam, L.Anelay of St Johns, B. [Teller]
Ashton of Hyde, L.Astor of Hever, L.Baker of Dorking, L.
Barker, B.Bates, L.Bell, L.
Benjamin, B.Berridge, B.Bew, L.
Black of Brentwood, L.Blencathra, L.Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury, B.
Brabazon of Tara, L.Bradshaw, L.Brinton, B.
Brittan of Spennithorne, L.Brooke of Sutton Mandeville, L.Brougham and Vaux, L.
Burnett, L.Buscombe, B.Butler-Sloss, B.
Caithness, E.Campbell of Alloway, L.Cathcart, E.
Cavendish of Furness, L.Chadlington, L.Colwyn, L.
Cope of Berkeley, L.Cormack, L.Cotter, L.
Courtown, E.Craigavon, V.De Mauley, L.
Dholakia, L.Dixon-Smith, L.Dobbs, L.
Doocey, B.Dykes, L.Eaton, B.
Eccles, V.Eccles of Moulton, B.Empey, L.
Falkner of Margravine, B.Faulks, L.Fellowes of West Stafford, L.
Fink, L.Flight, L.Fookes, B.
Forsyth of Drumlean, L.Framlingham, L.Freud, L.
Garden of Frognal, B.Gardiner of Kimble, L.Gardner of Parkes, B.
Geddes, L.German, L.Goodlad, L.
Green of Hurstpierpoint, L.Griffiths of Fforestfach, L.Hamwee, B.
Hanham, B.Harris of Richmond, B.Henley, L.
Higgins, L.Hill of Oareford, L.Hodgson of Astley Abbotts, L.
Hooper, B.Howe, E.Howe of Aberavon, L.
Hunt of Wirral, L.Hussain, L.Hussein-Ece, B.
Hylton, L.Inglewood, L.James of Blackheath, L.
Jenkin of Kennington, B.Jolly, B.Kalms, L.
Kramer, B.Lang of Monkton, L.Lawson of Blaby, L.
Lester of Herne Hill, L.Lexden, L.Lucas, L.
Luke, L.McColl of Dulwich, L.Mackay of Clashfern, L.
Maclennan of Rogart, L.McNally, L.Mancroft, L.
Mayhew of Twysden, L.Miller of Chilthorne Domer, B.Montrose, D.
Morris of Bolton, B.Neville-Jones, B.Newby, L. [Teller]
Newlove, B.Nicholson of Winterbourne, B.Noakes, B.
Northover, B.Norton of Louth, L.Oakeshott of Seagrove Bay, L.
O'Cathain, B.Parminter, B.Patten, L.
Perry of Southwark, B.Phillips of Sudbury, L.Plumb, L.
Popat, L.Randerson, B.Rawlings, B.
Reay, L.Redesdale, L.Rennard, L.
Renton of Mount Harry, L.Ribeiro, L.Risby, L.
Rodgers of Quarry Bank, L.Roper, L.Ryder of Wensum, L.
St John of Bletso, L.Saltoun of Abernethy, Ly.Sassoon, L.
Seccombe, B.Selborne, E.Selsdon, L.
Shackleton of Belgravia, B.Sharkey, L.Sharp of Guildford, B.
Sharples, B.Sheikh, L.Shipley, L.
Shrewsbury, E.Shutt of Greetland, L.Skelmersdale, L.
Slim, V.Spicer, L.Stedman-Scott, B.
Steel of Aikwood, L.Stoneham of Droxford, L.Stowell of Beeston, B.
Strasburger, L.Strathclyde, L.Swinfen, L.
Taverne, L.Teverson, L.Thomas of Winchester, B.
Tope, L.Trefgarne, L.Trenchard, V.
Trimble, L.True, L.Tugendhat, L.
Tyler, L.Tyler of Enfield, B.Verma, B.
Wallace of Saltaire, L.Wallace of Tankerness, L.Walmsley, B.
Warsi, B.Wasserman, L.Wei, L.
Wheatcroft, B.Wilcox, B.Wright of Richmond, L.
Younger of Leckie, V.
Divisions > Delegated Legislation > Criminal Injuries Compensation Scheme 2012 > Amendment to motion to approve:
  • (117-171), 25 Jul 2012