Early day motion 47

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises the issues faced by those in the UK who identify themselves as non-gender, bi-gender or intersex; believes that many of those who are non-gendered or bi-gendered feel compromised and diminished as a result of inappropriate gender references on their personal identity information; acknowledges that all passports issued by HM Passport Office are currently gender-specific and it is therefore not possible to obtain a passport that contains no reference to gendered identity; understands that, alongside F (Female) and M (Male), the International Civil Aviation Organisation's Document 9303 already contains X (unspecified) as a permitted character for three permitted characters under the mandatory sex element for machine-readable travel documents; notes that in Australia and New Zealand citizens are able to obtain a non-gender specific X passport and that India, Nepal and Pakistan also recognise the legitimacy of X as a preferred option when M and F are not appropriate; further believes that allowing this possibility in the UK would go a long way to amend this discriminatory policy which denies non-gendered and bi-gendered people a legitimate identity; and therefore urges the Government and HM Passport Office to make non-gender-specific X passports available to those UK passport holders who do not identify with a particular gender.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 80

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 80 out of 80

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 20.10.2014
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 09.07.2014
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 16.06.2014
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 02.07.2014
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 24.03.2015
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 02.09.2014
Blunt, Crispin Conservative Party Reigate 03.02.2015
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 09.06.2014
Brown, Nicholas Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne East 10.07.2014
Bruce, Malcolm Liberal Democrats Gordon 03.07.2014
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 25.06.2014
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 03.07.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 10.06.2014
Champion, Sarah Labour Party Rotherham 08.07.2014
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 09.06.2014
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 01.07.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 05.06.2014
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 25.02.2015
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 24.03.2015
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 01.09.2014
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 15.10.2014
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 22.07.2014
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 10.06.2014
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 24.03.2015
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 19.06.2014
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 02.09.2014
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 22.10.2014
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 12.06.2014
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 13.10.2014
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 09.06.2014
Gilbert, Stephen Liberal Democrats St Austell and Newquay 03.07.2014
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 22.01.2015
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 12.06.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 09.07.2014
Hain, Peter Labour Party Neath 17.12.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 17.06.2014
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 18.03.2015
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 16.06.2014
Hendrick, Mark Labour Party Preston 04.02.2015
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 01.09.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 09.06.2014
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 10.07.2014
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 11.03.2015
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 05.06.2014
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 01.09.2014
Jowell, Tessa Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 17.11.2014
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 09.06.2014
Kennedy, Charles Liberal Democrats Ross Skye and Lochaber 20.01.2015
Lammy, David Labour Party Tottenham 03.12.2014
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 29.01.2015
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 12.09.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 10.06.2014
Leslie, Charlotte Conservative Party Bristol North West 04.03.2015
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 11.06.2014
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 18.06.2014
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 24.03.2015
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 17.06.2014
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 07.11.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 09.06.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 09.06.2014
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 16.03.2015
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 18.03.2015
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 01.07.2014
O'Donnell, Fiona Labour Party East Lothian 28.01.2015
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 16.07.2014
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 11.06.2014
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 16.06.2014
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 25.11.2014
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 28.10.2014
Swales, Ian Liberal Democrats Redcar 02.09.2014
Thornton, Mike Liberal Democrats Eastleigh 23.06.2014
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 16.03.2015
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 02.09.2014
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 16.07.2014
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 11.03.2015
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 17.11.2014
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 16.06.2014
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 09.07.2014
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 12.06.2014
Woodward, Shaun Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 11.11.2014