Early day motion 2817

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises that public libraries are important community spaces and a vital public resource; acknowledges that many are under threat due to wide-scale budget cuts; is concerned about the impact of closures on social inclusion, social mobility and society more generally; welcomes the formation of Speak Up for Libraries, a coalition of national organisations and library campaigners that is leading a delegation of supporters from around the country to Parliament on 13 March 2012 in order to highlight the vital role that library services, run by professionally trained and qualified staff, play in the community and for individuals; and therefore calls on the Government to undertake a thorough assessment of the state of the public library service and develop a national vision for the service.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 52

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 52 out of 52

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 05.03.2012
Blunkett, David Labour Party Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough 14.03.2012
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 06.03.2012
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 06.03.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 07.03.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 06.03.2012
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 13.03.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 06.03.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 16.04.2012
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 08.03.2012
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 26.03.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 06.03.2012
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 07.03.2012
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 09.03.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 05.03.2012
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 13.03.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 06.03.2012
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 13.03.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 07.03.2012
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 09.03.2012
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 16.04.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 05.03.2012
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 05.03.2012
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 20.03.2012
Hodge, Margaret Labour Party Barking 14.03.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 07.03.2012
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 12.03.2012
Hunt, Tristram Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent Central 08.03.2012
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 26.03.2012
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 05.03.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 06.03.2012
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 13.03.2012
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 22.03.2012
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 07.03.2012
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 13.03.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 06.03.2012
McKenzie, Iain Labour Party Inverclyde 14.03.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 05.03.2012
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 07.03.2012
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 13.03.2012
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 16.04.2012
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 14.03.2012
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 21.03.2012
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 14.03.2012
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 14.03.2012
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 06.03.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 06.03.2012
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 06.03.2012
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 06.03.2012
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 15.03.2012
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 12.03.2012
Wicks, Malcolm Labour Party Croydon North 20.03.2012