Early day motion 2235

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House congratulates the West Highland Free Press on becoming Britain's first employee-owned newspaper; notes that over the last 37 years, the Free Press has established an international reputation for all that is best about journalism; further notes that the newspaper serves all the people in its community, and that the founders of the Free Press have shown that they practice what they preach, both in their radical stewardship of the paper since its foundation, and in their present support for the new form of ownership; recognises the outstanding contribution that one of the newspaper's founders, Brian Wilson, a former hon. Member of this House, has made to ensuring that the newspaper has been part of the political, cultural and social debate in the Highlands and Islands; wishes its new owners every success; and trusts that this will serve as an example to other businesses to develop employee ownership initiatives where possible.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 47

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 47 out of 47

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 05.11.2009
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 04.11.2009
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 11.11.2009
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 09.11.2009
Bruce, Malcolm Liberal Democrats Gordon 10.11.2009
Cairns, David Labour Party Inverclyde 04.11.2009
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 11.11.2009
Carmichael, Alistair Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 04.11.2009
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 10.11.2009
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 04.11.2009
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 04.11.2009
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 04.11.2009
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 05.11.2009
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 09.11.2009
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 04.11.2009
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 10.11.2009
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 05.11.2009
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 09.11.2009
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 09.11.2009
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 09.11.2009
Galloway, George Respect Bethnal Green and Bow 10.11.2009
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 10.11.2009
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 05.11.2009
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 09.11.2009
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 10.11.2009
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 09.11.2009
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 09.11.2009
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 11.11.2009
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 05.11.2009
Joyce, Eric Labour Party Falkirk 04.11.2009
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 04.11.2009
Mallaber, Judy Labour Party Amber Valley 11.11.2009
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 09.11.2009
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 04.11.2009
McGuire, Anne Labour Party Stirling 04.11.2009
McKenna, Rosemary Labour Party Cumbernauld Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East 04.11.2009
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 04.11.2009
Reid, Alan Liberal Democrats Argyll and Bute 04.11.2009
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 04.11.2009
Sarwar, Mohammad Labour Party Glasgow Central 04.11.2009
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 04.11.2009
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 11.11.2009
Touhig, Don Labour Party Islwyn 10.11.2009
Truswell, Paul Labour Party Pudsey 10.11.2009
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 10.11.2009
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 10.11.2009
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 09.11.2009