Early day motion 499

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 1994-95
  • Date tabled: 26.01.1995
  • Primary sponsor: Hoyle, Doug
  • Sponsors:

    That this House draws attention to the different treatment meted out to Mr Mike Catt, of Bath RUFC and England, as compared with Mr Adrian Spencer, the Cambridge University rugby union player, by the Rugby Football Union, who in the case of Mr Catt, whilst not denying that he was paid ú140 per week expenses for playing rugby union in South Africa, permitted him to continue as an amateur and play for his club and England, yet in the case of Mr Spencer, who was paid nothing for playing ruby league with London Crusaders, branded him a professional and banned him from playing rugby union for 12 months; further notes that whilst Mr Catt was allowed to appear before the investigating team no such facility was afforded to Mr Spencer; condemns this injustice and interference with human rights; and calls upon the Rugby Football Union to stop using double standards, to review the case and to reinstate Mr Spencer forthwith. (Relevant registered interest declared).

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 57

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 57 out of 57

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Barnes, Harry Labour Party North East Derbyshire 26.01.1995
Battle, John Labour Party Leeds West 26.01.1995
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party City of York 30.01.1995
Bermingham, Gerald Labour Party St Helens South 01.02.1995
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield Attercliffe 02.02.1995
Bradley, Keith Labour Party Manchester Withington 26.01.1995
Campbell, Anne Labour Party Cambridge 30.01.1995
Campbell-Savours, DN Labour Party Workington 16.02.1995
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 26.01.1995
Clarke, Eric Labour Party Midlothian 26.01.1995
Cox, Tom Labour Party Tooting 27.01.1995
Cunliffe, Lawrence Labour Party Leigh 26.01.1995
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 26.01.1995
Dalyell, Tam Labour Party Linlithgow 26.01.1995
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow Pollok 31.01.1995
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West 30.01.1995
Evans, John Labour Party St Helens North 26.01.1995
Galloway, George Labour Party Glasgow 09.02.1995
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 21.02.1995
Godman, Norman A Labour Party Greenock and Inverclyde 30.01.1995
Graham, Thomas Scottish Labour Party West Renfrewshire 31.01.1995
Griffiths, Win Labour Party Bridgend 02.02.1995
Gunnell, John Labour Party Morley and Rothwell 26.01.1995
Hall, Mike Labour Party Weaver Vale 26.01.1995
Hinchliffe, David Labour Party Wakefield 26.01.1995
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley North and Sefton East 26.01.1995
Hutton, John Labour Party Barrow and Furness 26.01.1995
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 01.02.1995
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 30.01.1995
Jones, Martyn Labour Party Clwyd South 26.01.1995
Kennedy, Jane Labour Party Liverpool Wavertree 01.02.1995
Kilfoyle, Peter Labour Party Liverpool Walton 30.01.1995
Lewis, Terry Labour Party Worsley 30.01.1995
Livingstone, Ken No party affiliation Brent East 06.02.1995
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 10.02.1995
Mackinlay, Andrew Labour Party Thurrock 26.01.1995
MacShane, Denis Labour Party Rotherham 26.01.1995
Mahon, Alice Labour Party Halifax 01.02.1995
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 26.01.1995
McAllion, John Labour Party Dundee East 31.01.1995
McCartney, Ian Labour Party Makerfield 26.01.1995
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 26.01.1995
Michie, Bill Labour Party Sheffield Heeley 26.01.1995
Milburn, Alan Labour Party Darlington 01.02.1995
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 30.01.1995
Mullin, Chris Labour Party Sunderland South 26.01.1995
Pendry, Tom Labour Party Stalybridge and Hyde 30.01.1995
Pickthall, Colin Labour Party West Lancashire 30.01.1995
Prentice, Bridget Labour Party Lewisham East 30.01.1995
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 02.02.1995
Purchase, Ken Labour Party Wolverhampton North East 30.01.1995
Rooney, Terry Labour Party Bradford North 30.01.1995
Ross, Ernie Labour Party Dundee West 31.01.1995
Snape, Peter Labour Party West Bromwich East 30.01.1995
Steinberg, Gerry Labour Party City of Durham 31.01.1995
Tipping, Paddy Labour Party Sherwood 31.01.1995
Williams, Alan Labour Party Swansea West 31.01.1995