Early day motion 591

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with great concern the high levels of income and particularly wealth inequality in our society; further notes the recommendation in the 2016 Concluding Observations of the UN Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights to bring into force the outstanding provisions of the Equality Act 2010; commends the efforts of some councils to implement the Socio-economic Duty (Part 1 of the Equality Act 2010) in their budgets and strategic planning; welcomes the Scottish Government's decision to commence the Socio-economic Duty; encourages the Welsh Government to make use of the powers of the Wales Act 2017 to bring the Duty to life; and calls on the Government to bring section 1 of the Equality Act into effect.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 79

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 79 out of 79

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Antoniazzi, Tonia Labour Party Gower 01.12.2017
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston 11.12.2017
Benn, Hilary Labour Party Leeds Central 01.12.2017
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 29.11.2017
Blackford, Ian Scottish National Party Ross Skye and Lochaber 28.11.2017
Blackman, Kirsty Scottish National Party Aberdeen North 04.12.2017
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 12.03.2018
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 04.12.2017
Buck, Karen Labour Party Westminster North 29.11.2017
Cadbury, Ruth Labour Party Brentford and Isleworth 01.12.2017
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 05.12.2017
Chapman, Douglas Scottish National Party Dunfermline and West Fife 30.11.2017
Charalambous, Bambos Labour Party Enfield Southgate 30.11.2017
Coaker, Vernon Labour Party Gedling 29.11.2017
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 05.12.2017
Cowan, Ronnie Scottish National Party Inverclyde 29.11.2017
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 19.12.2017
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 28.11.2017
Davey, Edward Liberal Democrats Kingston and Surbiton 21.03.2018
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 27.11.2017
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 11.12.2017
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 07.12.2017
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 07.03.2018
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 29.11.2017
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 14.03.2018
Frith, James Labour Party Bury North 29.11.2017
Gaffney, Hugh Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 29.11.2017
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 01.12.2017
Gill, Preet Labour Party Birmingham Edgbaston 01.12.2017
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 01.12.2017
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 28.11.2017
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North 05.03.2018
Green, Kate Labour Party Stretford and Urmston 29.11.2017
Grogan, John Labour Party Keighley 20.03.2018
Harman, Harriet Labour Party Camberwell and Peckham 23.11.2017
Hayes, Helen Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 29.11.2017
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 08.01.2018
Hobhouse, Wera Liberal Democrats Bath 14.12.2017
Hodge, Margaret Labour Party Barking 29.11.2017
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 29.11.2017
Lake, Ben Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 11.12.2017
Lammy, David Labour Party Tottenham 12.12.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 29.11.2017
Lewis, Clive Labour Party Norwich South 18.12.2017
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 28.11.2017
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 04.09.2018
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 05.12.2017
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 04.12.2017
Martin, Sandy Labour Party Ipswich 29.11.2017
McDonagh, Siobhain Labour Party Mitcham and Morden 28.03.2018
McDonald, Stuart Scottish National Party Cumbernauld Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East 04.12.2017
McGinn, Conor Labour Party St Helens North 15.03.2018
McKinnell, Catherine Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne North 28.02.2018
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 28.11.2017
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 20.02.2018
Moran, Layla Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 11.12.2017
Murray, Ian Labour Party Edinburgh South 14.03.2018
O'Mara, Jared INDEPENDENT Sheffield Hallam 11.12.2017
Peacock, Stephanie Labour Party Barnsley East 11.12.2017
Phillips, Jess Labour Party Birmingham Yardley 29.11.2017
Pidcock, Laura Labour Party North West Durham 29.11.2017
Reeves, Ellie Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 29.03.2018
Rimmer, Marie Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 28.11.2017
Russell-Moyle, Lloyd Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 06.12.2017
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 15.01.2018
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 14.12.2017
Sheppard, Tommy Scottish National Party Edinburgh East 29.11.2017
Smeeth, Ruth Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 11.12.2017
Sobel, Alex Labour Party Leeds North West 27.11.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 27.11.2017
Streeting, Wes Labour Party Ilford North 04.12.2017
Thomas, Gareth (Harrow West) Labour Party Harrow West 29.11.2017
Timms, Stephen Labour Party East Ham 01.12.2017
Umunna, Chuka Labour Party Streatham 19.03.2018
Walker, Thelma Labour Party Colne Valley 29.11.2017
West, Catherine Labour Party Hornsey and Wood Green 29.11.2017
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 22.03.2018
Yasin, Mohammad Labour Party Bedford 29.11.2017
Zeichner, Daniel Labour Party Cambridge 22.02.2018