Early day motion 537

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises the enormous contribution to Britain of the former Hong Kong armed forces from 1857 until 1997; believes that those remaining soldiers of the Hong Kong Military Service Corps and the Hong Kong Royal Naval Service who did not receive a UK passport following the handover of Hong Kong to China should now be offered that choice; notes that not more than some 500 soldiers were given a UK passport in 1997 under the then passport selection scheme; further notes that the remainder of the Military Service Corps and some 100 Royal Naval servicemen were left behind; acknowledges that these men and their ancestors have served UK commitments in South East Asia greatly, stood shoulder-to-shoulder with Britain throughout two world wars, as well as alongside Britain in France, Burma, Korea, Malaya, Singapore, Hong Kong, China and the UN for King, Queen and country; and calls on the Government to recognise that the decision not to have asked each serviceman to freely transfer their nationality from British-Hong Kong to Hong Kong-Chinese was unjust and an error that should now be rectified.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 20

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 20 out of 20

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Blackman, Bob Conservative Party Harrow East 15.11.2017
Bridgen, Andrew Conservative Party North West Leicestershire 04.12.2017
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 15.11.2017
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 21.11.2017
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 16.11.2017
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 27.11.2017
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 11.10.2018
Henderson, Gordon Conservative Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 20.11.2017
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 16.11.2017
Jardine, Christine Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 21.11.2017
Lewis, Julian Conservative Party New Forest East 15.11.2017
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 10.09.2018
O'Hara, Brendan Scottish National Party Argyll and Bute 16.11.2017
Rimmer, Marie Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 21.11.2017
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 15.11.2017
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 14.11.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 14.11.2017
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 14.11.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 15.11.2017
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 16.11.2017