Early day motion 1780

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises that the principal duty of hon. Members is to represent their constituents in Parliament; also recognises that some hon. Members would prefer to swear an oath of allegiance to their constituents and the nation rather than the Monarch; and therefore calls on the Leader of the House to bring forward legislative proposals to introduce an optional alternative Parliamentary oath allowing hon. Members to swear allegiance to their constituents and the nation and to pledge to uphold the law rather than one pledging personal allegiance to the serving Monarch.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 25

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 25 out of 25

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 30.06.2008
Baker, Norman Liberal Democrats Lewes 12.06.2008
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 16.06.2008
Buck, Karen Labour Party Regent's Park and Kensington North 06.10.2008
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 18.06.2008
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 17.06.2008
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 18.06.2008
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 30.06.2008
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West 21.10.2008
Featherstone, Lynne Liberal Democrats Hornsey and Wood Green 06.10.2008
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 12.06.2008
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 17.06.2008
Goldsworthy, Julia Liberal Democrats Falmouth and Camborne 02.07.2008
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 08.07.2008
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 09.07.2008
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats North Southwark and Bermondsey 07.10.2008
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 12.06.2008
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 18.06.2008
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 16.06.2008
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 18.06.2008
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 19.06.2008
Oaten, Mark Liberal Democrats Winchester 26.06.2008
Purchase, Ken Labour Party Wolverhampton North East 03.07.2008
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 02.07.2008
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 22.07.2008