Skip to main content

Dissolution of Parliament

The dissolution of Parliament took place on Thursday 30 May 2024. All business in the House of Commons and House of Lords has come to an end. There are currently no MPs and every seat in the Commons is vacant until after the general election on 4 July 2024.

Find out more about:

Private Members’ Bills presented to Parliament as MPs attempt to make their mark on the law

15 June 2022

There is no description available for this image (ID: 171459)

The Presentation of Private Members’ Bills took place today in the House of Commons Chamber.

Twenty lucky MPs were drawn in a Private Members’ Bills ballot which took place last month, and these MPs have spent the past few weeks deciding on which topic they wish to introduce legislation.

The twenty Members and their chosen bills are:

See the full list of bills including descriptive long titles in today’s Order Paper. It is up to the individual Members to decide on their bill’s topic.

13 Fridays in each parliamentary session are allocated to debating these bills, although they will need to go through all legislative stages in both Houses of Parliament before they can become law (or an ‘Act’). You can find out more on bill stages on our website here.

The Government announced a schedule of sitting Fridays earlier this week, with the first Private Members’ Bill Friday now expected to take place on 15 July.

Priority in debating time is given to those MPs who have appeared near the top of the ballot, although all twenty bills will formally appear on the House of Commons order paper.

Private Members’ Bills are Public Bills introduced by MPs who are not government Ministers. The successful MPs from this year’s ballot will now have their chance to make their mark on the law in the current session.