Skip to main content

Parliament's working year comes to a close: 2019-21 session ends

29 April 2021 (updated on 29 April 2021)

Houses of Parliament at night, lit up with the ruiver Thames in the foreground

Parliament's 2019–21 session has been brought to a close with a 'prorogation' announcement on Thursday 29 April 2021.

The House of Commons and the House of Lords will next sit for the State Opening of Parliament on Tuesday 11 May 2021.

What is prorogation?

Prorogation marks the formal end of the Parliamentary session. It usually takes the form of an announcement, read on behalf of the Queen, in the House of Lords chamber.

About the prorogation announcement

The announcement lists the major pieces of legislation passed during the session and also describes other measures taken by the government during the Parliamentary year.

Once it has been read in the Lords, the same announcement is repeated by the Speaker in the House of Commons Chamber.

New legislation

Following scrutiny by both Houses, these Bills received Royal Assent on Thursday 29 April 2021:

What happens next?

State Opening

The State Opening of Parliament will take place on Tuesday 11 May.

The State Opening of Parliament marks the formal start of the parliamentary year and the Queen's Speech sets out the government's agenda for the coming session, outlining proposed policies and legislation. It is the only regular occasion when the three constituent parts of Parliament – the Sovereign, the House of Lords and the House of Commons – meet.