Skip to main content

Dissolution of Parliament

The dissolution of Parliament took place on Thursday 30 May 2024. All business in the House of Commons and House of Lords has come to an end. There are currently no MPs and every seat in the Commons is vacant until after the general election on 4 July 2024.

Find out more about:

Lords debates future UK-EU relationship

17 March 2020


On Monday 16 March members debate the Lords EU Committee report on UK and EU positions and scrutiny of negotiations, and the government’s approach to Brexit negotiations. Speakers include former leading diplomats and former secretaries of state.

This is the first report to be made under section 29 of the European Union (Withdrawal Agreement) Act 2020, which empowers Parliament's committees to report on legislation that raises matters of vital national interest.

Under this power, the EU Committee reports on the EU Council Decision setting out its negotiations approach to the UK-EU future relationship and compares it with the UK government’s position, set out in its Command Paper.

To give the House of Lords an early opportunity to debate the important issues that will arise in the negotiations, the debate on this committee report takes place within 14 sitting days of its publication.

Find out more:

The Earl of Kinnoull (Non-affiliated), chair of the EU Committee, put forward the debate.

Speakers include:

  • Lord Bowness (Conservative), Inter-Parliamentary Union delegation member to the Organisation for Security and Co-operation in Europe Parliamentary Assembly
  • Lord Hain (Labour), former Minister for Europe and Secretary of State for Northern Ireland
  • Lord Kerr of Kinlochard (Crossbench), former UK permanent representative to the EU and author of Article 50
  • Baroness Smith of Newnham (Liberal Democrat), reader in European Politics, University of Cambridge.

Lord True (Conservative), Minister of State in the Cabinet Office, responds on behalf of the government.

Further information

Image: Creative Commons