Commons Committee Chair election results announced

The following Select Committee Chairs have been announced, following a nomination period that ran from 16-27 January. 13 Chairs were elected uncontested once the nomination period ended, and the rest were elected through a secret ballot on 29 January.

Chairs take up their posts once the members of their Committees have been appointed.

Committee Chairs

  • Backbench Business Committee; Ian Mearns
  • Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Committee; Rachel Reeves
  • Defence Committee; Mr Tobias Ellwood
  • Digital, Culture, Media and Sport Committee; Julian Knight
  • Education Committee; Robert Halfon
  • Environmental Audit Committee; Philip Dunne
  • Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee; Neil Parish
  • Exiting the European Union Committee; Hilary Benn
  • Foreign Affairs Committee; Tom Tugendhat
  • Health and Social Care Committee; Jeremy Hunt
  • Home Affairs Committee; Yvette Cooper
  • Housing, Communities and Local Government Committee; Clive Betts
  • International Development Committee; Sarah Champion
  • International Trade Committee; Angus Brendan MacNeil
  • Justice Committee; Sir Robert Neill
  • Northern Ireland Affairs Committee; Simon Hoare
  • Petitions Committee; Catherine McKinnell
  • Procedure Committee; Karen Bradley
  • Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs Committee; Mr William Wragg
  • Public Accounts Committee; Meg Hillier
  • Science and Technology Committee; Greg Clark
  • Scottish Affairs Committee; Pete Wishart
  • Standards Committee; Kate Green
  • Transport Committee; Huw Merriman
  • Treasury Committee; Mel Stride
  • Welsh Affairs Committee; Stephen Crabb
  • Women and Equalities Committee; Caroline Nokes
  • Work and Pensions Committee; Stephen Timms

Image: Parliamentary copyright