Skip to main content

House of Commons Speaker Election Candidates

4 November 2019 (updated on 4 November 2019)

Image of UK Parliament portcullis

MPs are electing the new Speaker of the House of Commons after the resignation of John Bercow. The seven candidates and the order in which they will address the House have now been announced.

The Speaker of the House of Commons chairs debates in the Commons Chamber. The holder of this office is an MP who has been elected to the role by other Members of Parliament.

As Father of the House, Rt Hon Kenneth Clarke MP will preside over the election of the new Speaker.

At 2.30pm candidates will address the House, and MPs will proceed to vote in a secret ballot. Successive ballots will be held until either a candidate wins more than 50 per cent of the vote, or only one candidate remains.

Candidate nominations

The seven candidates running for Speaker are:

  • Chris Bryant – Former Shadow Commons Leader, Labour MP for Rhondda.
    Nominated by: Diana Johnson, Chris Heaton-Harris, Dr Philippa Whitford, Michael Gove, John McDonnell, Shabana Mahmood, Caroline Lucas, Luciana Berger, Greg Clark, Holly Lynch, Lyn Brown, Bim Afolami, Ian Murray, Tom Tugendhat, Melanie Onn
  • Harriet Harman – Former Leader of the House of Commons, Labour MP for Camberwell and Peckham
    Nominated by: Mr Andrew Mitchell, Ms Karen Buck, Joanna Cherry, Barbara Keeley, Daniel Zeichner, Kate Green, Janet Daby, Seema Malhotra, Emily Thornberry, Daniel Kawczynski, Rachel Reeves, Nicky Morgan, Mr David Lammy, Christine Jardine, Dr Sarah Wollaston
  • Meg Hillier – Chair of the Public Accounts Committee, Labour MP for Hackney South and Shoreditch
    Nominated by: Layla Moran, Emma Hardy, Sarah Champion, Nia Griffiths, Mr Mark Prisk, Lee Rowley, Douglas Chapman, Anne Marie Morris, Simon Hoare, Ian Mearns, Dr Lisa Cameron, Gareth Thomas, Deidre Brock
  • Sir Lindsay Hoyle – Deputy Speaker and Chair of Ways and Means, Labour MP for Chorley
    Nominated by: Sir Charles Walker, Marion Fellows, Tracey Crouch, Marsha De Cordova, Sir David Crausby, Joan Ryan, Seema Kennedy, Mrs Pauline Latham, Mr Kevan Jones, Sir Roger Gale, Mr William Wragg, Christian Matheson, Mr Khalid Mahmood, Caroline Flint, Jamie Stone
  • Dame Eleanor Laing – Deputy Speaker, Conservative MP for Epping Forest
    Nominated by: Mrs Maria Miller, Stewart Malcolm McDonald, Stephanie Peacock, Sir Geoffrey Clifton-Brown, Ross Thomson, Andrea Jenkyns, Penny Mordaunt, David Linden, Chris Grayling, Tim Loughton, Jack Brereton, Dr Liam Fox, Mr Mark Harper, Dame Rosie Winterton, Anne-Marie Trevelyan
  • Sir Edward Leigh – Former Chair of the Public Accounts Committee, Conservative MP for Gainsborough 
    Nominated by: Mr Richard Bacon, Dr Julian Lewis, Nigel Mills, Martin Vickers, Sir John Hayes, Mr Barry Sheerman, Martin Docherty-Hughes, Alberto Costa, Stephen Pound, Sir David Amess, Mr Robert Goodwill, Fiona Bruce, David Morris, Mike Kane, Geraint Davies
  • Dame Rosie Winterton – Deputy Speaker, Former Labour Chief Whip, Labour MP for Doncaster Central
    Nominated by: Mary Creagh, Jonathan Ashworth, Peter Kyle, Sir Patrick McLoughlin, Mr Alistair Carmichael, Eleanor Smith, Sir Kevin Barron, Liz McInnes, Mims Davies, Dame Eleanor Laing, Tommy Sheppard, John Grogan, Edward Miliband, Ian C Lucas, Tom Brake

Order in which Candidates will address the House

The Father of the House, Kenneth Clarke MP, has drawn the order in which the candidates will address the House.

  1. Dame Rosie Winterton
  2. Chris Bryant
  3. Sir Edward Leigh
  4. Dame Eleanor Laing
  5. Meg Hillier
  6. Sir Lindsay Hoyle
  7. Ms Harriet Harman

First ballot results

There were 562 ballots cast. The results of the first ballot were:

  • Chris Bryant, 98 votes
  • Ms Harriet Harman, 72 votes
  • Meg Hillier, 10 votes
  • Sir Lindsay Hoyle, 211 votes
  • Eleanor Laing, 113 votes
  • Sir Edward Leigh, 12 votes
  • Dame Rosie Winterton, 46 votes

Meg Hillier and Sir Edward Leigh received less than five per cent of the vote and do not proceed to the next round. No other candidates withdrew.

Second ballot results

The results of the second ballot were:

  • Chris Bryant, 120 votes
  • Ms Harriet Harman, 59 votes
  • Sir Lindsay Hoyle, 244 votes
  • Eleanor Laing, 122 votes
  • Dame Rosie Winterton, 30 votes

Dame Rosie Winterton received the fewest votes and does not proceed to the next round.

Harriet Harman withdrew from the Speaker's election.

Third ballot results

The results of the third ballot were: 

  • Chris Bryant, 169 votes
  • Sir Lindsay Hoyle, 267 votes
  • Eleanor Laing, 127 votes

Eleanor Laing withdrew from the Speaker's election.

Sir Lindsay Hoyle elected as Speaker of the House of Commons

With 325 votes Sir Lindsay Hoyle was elected as Speaker.

Further information

For more information on how a Speaker is elected, read our procedural explainer

Image: UK Parliament

Follow the @HouseofCommons on Twitter for updates on the UK House of Commons Chamber.

Watch a debate

How to watch proceedings from the public gallery

UK residents and overseas visitors can watch proceedings in the House of Commons by visiting the public gallery.

Related information

Topics: Speaker

Recent parliamentary material on the Speaker of the House of Commons. This includes briefing papers produced by the parliamentary research services, and the latest Early Day Motions put down by MPs.