Skip to main content

End of the 2017-19 Parliament

8 October 2019

Image of UK Parliament portcullis

The 2017–19 Parliamentary session has been brought to a close with a 'prorogation' announcement on Tuesday 8 October 2019.

The House of Commons and the House of Lords will next sit for the State Opening of Parliament on Monday 14 October 2019.

What is prorogation?

Prorogation marks the formal end of the Parliamentary session. It usually takes the form of an announcement, read on behalf of the Queen, in the House of Lords chamber.

About the prorogation announcement

The announcement lists the major pieces of legislation passed during the session and also describes other measures taken by the government during the Parliamentary year.

Once it has been read in the Lords, the same announcement is repeated by the Speaker in the House of Commons.

New legislation

The following Bills received Royal Assent on Tuesday 8 October 2019.

What happens next?

State Opening

The State Opening of Parliament will take place on Monday 14 October 2019.

The State Opening of Parliament marks the formal start of the parliamentary year and the Queen's Speech sets out the government's agenda for the coming session, outlining proposed policies and legislation. It is the only regular occasion when the three constituent parts of Parliament – the Sovereign, the House of Lords and the House of Commons – meet.

Image: Parliamentary copyright