Skip to main content

Dissolution of Parliament

The dissolution of Parliament took place on Thursday 30 May 2024. All business in the House of Commons and House of Lords has come to an end. There are currently no MPs and every seat in the Commons is vacant until after the general election on 4 July 2024.

Find out more about:

Lords marks twenty years of devolution

23 May 2019

Image of UK Parliament portcullis

On Wednesday 22 May, members of the House of Lords debated the 20th anniversary of devolution in the UK and the role of the devolved administrations in the governance of Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.

Members taking part included a professor of Irish politics at Queen's University, Belfast and a former Advocate General for Scotland

This was a general debate. During debates, members are able to put their experience to good use, discussing current issues and drawing the government's attention to concerns.

The debate was proposed by Lord Bourne of Aberystwyth (Conservative), parliamentary under-secretary in the Wales Office.

Members taking part included:

  • Lord Bew (Crossbench), professor of Irish politics at Queen's University, Belfast
  • Lord Davidson of Glen Cova (Labour), former Advocate General for Scotland
  • The Earl of Lindsay (Conservative), former member of the Calman Commission on Scottish Devolution
  • Baroness Randerson (Liberal Democrat), former acting Deputy First Minister of Wales
  • Lord Wigley (Plaid Cymru), former opposition leader of the National Assembly of Wales

Lord Duncan of Springbank (Conservative), parliamentary under-secretary in the Northern Ireland Office and the Scotland Office, responded on behalf of the government.

Further information

Image: House of Lords 2019 / Photography by Roger Harris