Skip to main content

New Member of Parliament for Peterborough

7 June 2019 (updated on 7 June 2019)

Image of UK Parliament portcullis

Lisa Forbes of the Labour Party has been elected as the new Member of Parliament for Peterborough following yesterday's by-election.

Background to the Peterborough by-election

The by-election was called after the former MP, Fiona Onasanya, was removed from office following a successful recall petition. This was the first successful use of this process. Ms Onasanya was eligible to stand again, but chose not to.

By-election results

CandidatePartyVotes polled
Lisa ForbesLabour Party10,484
Mike GreeneThe Brexit Party9,801
Paul BristowConservative Party7,243
Beki SellickLiberal Democrats4,159
Joseph WellsGreen Party1,035
John WhitbyUK Independence Party400
Tom RogersChristian Peoples Alliance162
Stephen GoldspinkEnglish Democrats153
Patrick O'FlynnSDP135
Howling Laud HopeThe Official Monster Raving Loony Party112
Andrew MooreIndependent101
Dick RodgersCommon Good60
Peter WardRenew45
Pierre KirkUK European Union Party25
Bobby Elmo SmithIndependent5

Image: PA

Follow the @HouseofCommons on Twitter for updates on the UK House of Commons Chamber.