Gauke updates MPs on review into implementation of legal aid changes

07 February 2019

Justice Secretary David Gauke made a statement to the House of Commons on the post-implementation review of changes to legal aid that were introduced in 2012.

The Conservative-Liberal Democrat Coalition Government (2010-2015) passed the Legal Aid, Sentencing and Punishment of Offenders Act 2012, also known as LASPO. The Act brought in a number of reforms to the justice system. This included major changes to legal aid - provision of assistance to those who are otherwise unable to afford legal representation.

In 2018, the Ministry of Justice started an evidence-based post-implementation review of LASPO.

The Justice Secretary told MPs, "We want to move forward with a new vision focusing on the individual and their needs, whether that be through legal aid or otherwise".

Responding on behalf of the Opposition, Shadow Justice Secretary Richard Burgon said,

"Legal advice for welfare benefits cases has been cut by an eye-watering 89%." The UN's Special Rapporteur labelled those legal aid cuts a denial of their human right to a remedy."

Image: iStock

Follow the @HouseofCommons on Twitter for updates on the UK House of Commons Chamber.

Please fill in our quick feedback survey to help us improve our news content.

More news on: Crime, civil law, justice and rights, Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, Administration of justice, Civil law, Legal aid, Courts, House of Commons news, Commons news

Share this page

Related information

  • What are statements?

    Government Ministers may make oral statements to Parliament which usually address major incidents, government policies or actions. These take place after Oral Questions and any granted Urgent Questions. Written statements are normally used to put the day-to-day business of government on the official record and in the public domain.

  • How to watch proceedings from the public gallery

    UK residents and overseas visitors can watch proceedings in the House of Commons by visiting the public gallery.

More Parliament news