European Union (Withdrawal) Bill: Consideration of Lords amendments

20 June 2018

MPs continued debating the European Union (Withdrawal) Bill in the House of Commons when it returned to the House of Commons from the House of Lords on Wednesday 20 June 2018.

Royal Assent

The European Union (Withdrawal) Bill received Royal Assent on Tuesday 26 June 2018.

Consideration of Lords Message: 20 June 2018

The House of Commons accepted all of the Lords proposed amendments with the exception of amendment 19P.  The Bill returned to the House of Lords where the revised amendment was accepted. The Bill is now awaiting Royal Assent.

The House of Commons voted against Dominic Grieve's amendment relating to a meaningful vote ton the UK's exit deal with the European Union.

Consideration of Lords Amendments

Day two: Wednesday 13 June 2018

The debate was opened by the Secretary of State for Exiting the European Union, David Davis.

The House of Commons divided 8 times over Lords amendments. These divisions were on amendments relating to the Customs Union, EEA and EU law.

European Economic Area

The House of Commons divided twice over the European Economic Area. Lords amendments were rejected that would have made the UK's full access to the EU internal market a negotiating objective of the Government and that would have called on the Government to make continued participation in the European Economic Area (EEA) a negotiating objective.

Customs Union

The House of Commons divided twice over the Customs Union and once over a 'customs arrangement'. All amendments were rejected, including amendments that would have made the Government outline what steps it would be taking to negotiate membership of a customs union were rejected.

Charter of Fundamental Rights

The House of Commons divided once on an amendment relating to the Charter of Fundamental Rights. An amendment which would have called for the Charter of Fundamental Rights (excluding the Preamble and Chapter V) to remain part of UK law after exit day was rejected by the Commons.

EU Law

House of Commons divided twice times over amendments relating to EU law, rejecting each of them. This includes amendments which would ensure the maintenance of all EU environmental standards and principles after exit day and would have required that retained EU law in certain areas could only be changed by primary legislation.

The Bill will now return to the House of Lords for further consideration of amendments.

Day one: Tuesday 12 June 2018

The debate was opened by the Secretary of State for Exiting the European Union, David Davis.

The House of Commons divided on 11 Lords amendments relating to an exit date, meaningful vote and delegated powers, rejecting them all. They then accepted the remainder of Lords amendments without a division.

Sifting Committee

The House of Commons divided twice over the powers of the Sifting Committee. They rejected Lords amendments which would have given the committee greater powers and which would have limited the scope of ministerial powers following Brexit.

Exit Date

The House of Commons divided three times over the exit date from the European Union, rejecting the Lords amendments on all three occasions. These amendments would have required parliamentary approval on the UKs exit date from the European Union.

Meaningful vote

The House of Commons divided once over the meaningful vote, rejecting the House of Lords amendment. They then accepted two Government amendments in lieu which mean Parliament will get a vote on the exit deal. If it's rejected, a minister will have 28 days to say what the Government will do next.

Validity of EU law

The House of Commons divided once over the validity of EU law, rejecting a Lords amendment which would have removed power from ministers to decide when retained EU law can be challenged in court.

Delegated powers

The House of Commons divided four times over delegated powers. Rejecting Lords amendments to limit the scope of Henry VIII powers and reducing ministerial powers relating to statutory instruments following Brexit.

Northern Ireland and Devolution

The House of Commons divided once over the devolution. After passing an amendment relating to new border arrangements in Northern Ireland without a division. The House divided on the remainder of Lords amendments.

The Bill will returns on Wednesday 13 June for the consideration of Lords amendments relating to new topics.

The European Union (Withdrawal) Bill 2017-19

Summary of the Bill

The European Union (Withdrawal) Bill 2017-19 aims to:

  • repeal the European Communities Act 1972 (ECA) on
    the day the United Kingdom leaves the European Union.
  • end the supremacy of European Union (EU) law in UK law and converts EU law as it stands at the moment of exit into domestic law. It also creates temporary powers to make secondary legislation to enable corrections to be made to the laws that would otherwise no longer operate appropriately once the UK has left, so that the domestic legal system continues to function correctly outside the EU.
  • enable domestic law to reflect the content of a withdrawal agreement under Article 50 of the Treaty on European Union once the UK leaves the EU.

Keep up to date with all the proceedings and documentation, including amendment papers, on the [insert title] Bill and find out how a Bill becomes an Act of Parliament.

House of Commons Library Analysis

The House of Commons Library produces briefing papers to inform MPs and their staff of key issues. The papers contain factual information and a range of opinions on each subject, and aim to be politically impartial.

The Library has published a number of briefing papers on this Bill. They can be found below:

European Union (Withdrawal) Bill: previous Commons stages

Remaining Stages (Report Stage and Third Reading)

On 16 and 17 January 2018, MPs debated the Remaining Stages of the EU Withdrawal Bill. This included both Report Stage and Third Reading, the final two stages in the Commons before the Bill is sent to the House of Lords.

Day 2 - Conclusion of Report Stage and Third Reading

The Commons debated the final day of the EU Withdrawal Bill Remaining Stages on 17 January 2018.

Relevant documents, including the Bill, the Amendment Paper and the Commons Library Research Note are available on the website:

Day 1 - Report Stage

The Commons debated the first day of the Remaining Stages of the EU Withdrawal Bill on 16 January 2018.

Committee of the whole House

Committee stage: Day Eight: 20 December 2017

Committee stage: Day Seven: 13 December 2017

The House of Commons agreed a proposal that the final Brexit deal has to be approved in a new law passed by Parliament. MPs voted 309 to 305 to approve Amendment 7 (Division 68)

Committee stage: Day Six: 12 December 2017

Committee stage: Day Five: 6 December 2017

Committee stage: Day Four: 4 December 2017

Committee stage: Day Three: 21 November 2017

Committee stage: Day Two: 15 November 2017

Committee stage: Day One: 14 November 2017

Second Reading: Day Two: 11 September 2017

The European Union (Withdrawal) Bill passed Second Reading 326 to 290 following a division in the House. (Division 14).

Second Reading: Day One: 7 September 2017

MPs debated day one of the Second Reading of the European Union (Withdrawal) Bill 2017-19 in the House of Commons on 7 September 2017.

Image: iStock

Follow the @HouseofCommons on Twitter for updates on the UK House of Commons Chamber. Please fill in our quick feedback survey
to help us improve our news content.

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, European Union, Parliament, House of Commons news, Commons news, Bill news, Exiting the European Union, Central government

Share this page