MPs vote for Select Committee Chairs

12 July 2017

MPs are voting to elect select committee chairs of the House of Commons.

Elections are taking place for eleven committees where there were two or more nominations. Voting starts at 10am and finishes at 4pm.

The secret ballot is held in a committee room in the House of Commons.

No election was necessary for seventeen committees for which a single nomination was received. These MPs will be declared elected, unopposed, when the Speaker announces the results in the House of Commons.

Further details for each position of Chair, including nominations and supporting statements, are available on individual committee pages.

Elections are taking place for the Chair of:

Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (Labour)
Communities and Local Government (Labour)
Defence (Conservative)
Education (Conservative)
Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Conservative)
Foreign Affairs (Conservative)
Northern Ireland Affairs (Conservative)
Science and Technology (Liberal Democrat)
Transport (Labour)
Treasury (Conservative)
And, elected under a different standing order: Backbench Business Committee (Labour)

Committees where no election is necessary (for which a single nomination was received):

Culture, Media and Sport (Conservative) - Damian Collins
Exiting the European Union (Labour) - Hilary Benn
Health (Conservative) - Dr Sarah Wollaston
Home Affairs (Labour) - Yvette Cooper
International Development (Labour) - Stephen Twigg
International Trade (Scottish National Party) - Angus Brendan MacNeil
Justice (Conservative) - Robert Neill
Scottish Affairs (Scottish National Party) - Pete Wishart
Welsh Affairs (Conservative) - David T C Davies
Women and Equalities (Conservative) - Mrs Maria Miller
Work and Pensions (Labour) - Frank Field

And other specified select committees:
Environmental Audit (Labour) - Mary Creagh
Petitions (Labour) - Helen Jones
Procedure (Conservative) - Mr Charles Walker
Public Accounts (Labour) - Meg Hillier
Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs (Conservative) - Mr Bernard Jenkin
Standards (Labour) - Sir Kevin Barron

The successful candidates will formally take up their positions as Chairs when the remaining members of the committee have been appointed by the House.

Further information

Image: Parliamentary copyright

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, House of Commons news, Commons news, Committee news

Share this page