Private Members' Bill Ballot: 29 June 2017

27 June 2017

The ballot for Commons Private Members’ Bills for the 2017-19 session took place at 9am on Thursday 29 June.  Labour MP Chris Bryant was drawn in first place.

Ballot results

The Chairman of Ways and Means, Lindsay Hoyle MP, drew the names of 20 MPs in reverse order. The Member drawn at position one has the first choice of a Private Members’ Bill Friday to debate their Bill.

Position in the ballot:

  1. Chris Bryant (Labour, Rhondda)
  2. Steve Reed (Labour, Croydon North)
  3. Afzal Khan (Labour, Manchester Gorton)
  4. Karen Buck (Labour, Westminster North)
  5. Tim Loughton (Conservative, East Worthing and Shoreham)
  6. Geoffrey Robinson (Labour, Coventry North West)
  7. Angus Brendan MacNeil (SNP, Na h-Eileanan an lar)
  8. Kevin Hollinrake (Conservative, Thirsk and Malton)
  9. Jim McMahon (Labour Co-Op, Oldham West and Royton)
  10. Glyn Davies (Conservative, Montgomeryshire)
  11. Sir Greg Knight (Conservative, East Yorkshire)
  12. Stewart Malcom McDonald (SNP, Glasgow South)
  13. Esther McVey (Conservative, Tatton)
  14. Dr Sarah Wollaston (Conservative, Totnes)
  15. Stephanie Peacock (Labour, Barnsley East)
  16. Daniel Zeichner (Labour, Cambridge)
  17. Andy Slaughter (Labour, Hammersmith)
  18. Peter Kyle (Labour, Hove)
  19. Anne Marie Morris (Conservative, Newton Abbot)
  20. Holly Lynch, (Labour, Halifax)

The ballot for Private Members’ Bills gives MPs the chance to be one of the first 20 to introduce a Private Members’ Bill on a subject of their choice this session. Those drawn higher in the ballot are more likely to get time to debate their Bill and therefore their Bills will have a higher chance of becoming law.

Presentation of Bills

The Ballot Bills will have their First Reading in the House of Commons on Wednesday 19 July 2017 and will then be considered on sitting Fridays.

The dates of sitting Fridays in the 2017-19 session have yet to be announced.

Related information

Success of Private Members' Ballot Bills

The following were Private Members' Bills from the ballot that became law in the 2016-17 Parliamentary session:

What are Private Members' Bills?

Private Members' Bills are Public Bills introduced by MPs and Lords who are not government ministers. As with other Public Bills their purpose is to change the law as it applies to the general population. A minority of Private Members' Bills become law.

There are three ways in which a Member can table a Private Members' Bill but Ballot Bills have the best chance of becoming law, as they get priority for the limited amount of debating time available.

The names of Members applying for a Bill are drawn in a ballot held at the beginning of the parliamentary session. Normally, the first seven ballot Bills get a day's debate.

Follow @HouseofCommons on Twitter for updates on the UK House of Commons Chamber.

Image: PC

Share this page