House of Commons returns on 13 June 2017

09 June 2017

The House of Commons will meet on Tuesday 13 June 2017 following the General Election.

The State Opening of Parliament will take place on Monday 19 June 2017, this will mark the formal start of the parliamentary year.

What happens at the start of a new parliament?

The House of Commons will sit for a few days before the State Opening of Parliament. During this time the Speaker of the House of Commons will be elected and MPs will be sworn in.

Election of the Speaker

When the House meets on 13 June, MPs will receive a message from the Queen asking them to elect a Speaker.

If the incumbent Speaker is returned at the General Election and wishes to stand for re-election, a motion is put to the House and, if agreed, the Speaker takes the chair.

If there is no returning Speaker wishing to stand again, or the House votes against the incumbent Speaker, a contested election by exhaustive ballot must take place to choose a new Speaker.

Swearing in and the Parliamentary oath

After the appointment of the Speaker, MPs will be sworn in over two or three days. The House will then adjourn until 19 June 2017 for the Queen’s Speech and State Opening.

MPs can either swear an oath or make a solemn affirmation. This process is known as swearing in.

This article was produced by the Commons Digital Outreach Team. Follow the @HouseofCommons on Twitter for updates on the UK House of Commons Chamber.

Image: PC

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Elections, Parliament, House of Commons news, Members of Parliament, Parliamentary procedure, Speaker news, Commons news, General election

Share this page