Election of Deputy Speakers

28 June 2017

The results of the Deputy Speakers election for the 2017 Parliament were announced by the Speaker, Rt Hon John Bercow MP, on Wednesday 28 June 2017.

The following candidates have been elected Deputy Speakers:

As Eleanor Laing was the only Conservative candidate nominated, her name did not appear on the ballot paper and she was declared the First Deputy Chairman of Ways and Means - a position that has to be filled by a candidate from the same party as the Speaker.

Once elected, Deputy Speakers remain in office until the next general election, unless they resign or otherwise cease to be an MP.

A booklet was produced that lists the candidates for the Deputy Speaker election in alphabetical order, together with their sponsors and personal statement.

By convention, the Chairman of Ways and Means chairs the Budget debate and scrutiny of legislation in Committee of the Whole House. All Deputy Speakers assist the Speaker in his duties in the chair and exercise his authority whilst doing so.

How are Deputy Speakers elected?

Deputy Speakers are elected using the single transferable vote system.

The votes are allocated so as to ensure that two of the Deputy Speakers are from the opposite side of the House than that from which the Speaker was drawn. Of these, the candidate with the larger number of votes will become the Chairman of Ways and Means, the other the Second Deputy Chairman of Ways and Means. The third successful candidate will be from the same side of the House as the Speaker and will be the First Deputy Chairman of Ways and Means.

The votes must also be allocated so as to ensure that, across the four posts of the Speaker and his Deputies, there will be at least one man and at least one woman.

Further information

Commons briefing note

Commons briefing notes are produced by the House of Commons Service under the authority of the Clerk of the House.

Find out more about the ballot for the election of Deputy Speakers.

House of Commons Library paper

The House of Commons Library produces briefing papers to inform MPs of key issues. The papers contain factual information and a range of opinions on each subject, and aim to be politically impartial.

Deputy Speakers in the House of Commons

In the House of Commons there are three Deputy Speakers who are elected by MPs to assist the Speaker in chairing debates in the Chamber and to perform a range of other duties. Like the Speaker they must be politically impartial.

Image: PC

Follow @HouseofCommons on Twitter for updates on the UK House of Commons Chamber.


More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, House of Commons news, Members of Parliament, Commons news

Share this page