New Lord Speaker

Lord Fowler, the Lord Speaker
24 August 2016

Lord Fowler officially took office as Lord Speaker on Thursday 1 September, following his election by members of the House of Lords in June. 

He is the third person to hold the post. He succeeded Baroness D’Souza, who became the second Lord Speaker in 2011. Baroness Hayman was the first in the role.

Lord Fowler presided over a sitting of the House of Lords for the first time on Monday 5 September.

Further information

Image: House of Lords 2016 / Annabel Moeller

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, House of Lords news, Lord Speaker news, Members of the Lords, Lords news

Share this page