Winning candidates for select committee Chairs announced

18 June 2015

Nominations for chairs of the 26 elected select committees and the chair of the Backbench Business Committee closed on Wednesday 10 June and elections were held by secret ballot on Wednesday 17 June 2015.

No ballot was necessary for 11 committees for which a single nomination had been received, as follows:

Committee Elected
Communities & Local Government Mr Clive Betts
Energy & Climate Change Angus Brendan MacNeil
Environment, Food & Rural Affairs Neil Parish
Northern Ireland Affairs Mr Laurence Robertson
Procedure Mr Charles Walker
Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs Mr Bernard Jenkin
Scottish Affairs Pete Wishart
Standards Kevin Barron
Transport Mrs Louise Ellman
Treasury Mr Andrew Tyrie
Welsh Affairs David T.C Davies
Women and Equalities Mrs Maria Miller

In the contested elections, a total of 621 ballot papers were submitted, the ballots being counted under the Alternative Vote system. The following candidates were elected:

Committee: Elected:
Backbench Business Ian Mearns
Business, Innovation & Skills Iain Wright
Culture, Media & Sport Jesse Norman
Defence Dr Julian Lewis
Education Neil Carmichael
Environmental Audit Huw Irranca-Davies
Foreign Affairs Crispin Blunt
Health Dr Sarah Wollaston
Home Affairs Keith Vaz
International Development Stephen Twigg
Justice  Robert Neill
Petitions Helen Jones
Public Accounts Meg Hillier
Science & Technology Nicola Blackwood
Work & Pensions Frank Field

The full breakdown of voting in each contest, indicating the votes attributable to each candidate after each redistribution of the votes of eliminated candidates, is set out in the document below.

The next step will be the election of the other members of each select committee, also by secret ballot, by the parties which have an allocated number of seats on each committee. The number of seats each party gets on each committee is allocated in proportion to their representation in the House of Commons as a whole. Further details of this next round will be announced shortly.


The 2010-15 Parliament was the first which saw select committee Chairs elected by a secret ballot of all Members of the House of Commons, following the recommendations of the Select Committee on Reform of the House of Commons set up in 2009. The Political and Constitutional Reform Committee report on the Wright Reforms as they have come to be known, cited broad support for the idea that the introduction of election for committee members and chairs has been particularly important in reinforcing committees' credibility, authority and legitimacy.

Image: Parliamentary Copyright

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, Commons news, Committee news

Share this page