Private Members' Bill Ballot: 4 June 2015

04 June 2015

The ballot for Commons Private Members’ Bills for the 2015-16 session took place at 9am on Thursday 4 June. Labour MP Rob Marris was drawn in first place.

The Chairman of Ways and Means, Lindsay Hoyle, drew the names of twenty MPs in reverse order. The Member drawn at position one has the first choice of a Private Members’ Bill Friday to debate their Bill.

Position in the ballot:

1. Rob Marris, Labour MP for Wolverhampton South West
2. Chris Heaton-Harris, Conservative MP for Daventry
3. Sir Gerald Howarth, Conservative MP for Aldershot
4. Julie Cooper, Labour MP for Burnley
5. Wendy Morton, Conservative MP for Aldridge-Brownhills
6. Teresa Pearce, Labour MP for Erith and Thamesmead
7. Mike Wood, Conservative MP for Dudley South
8. Nick Thomas-Symonds, Labour MP for Torfaen  
9. Ms Karen Buck, Labour MP for Westminster North
10. Simon Hoare, Conservative MP for North Dorset
11. Dame Angela Watkinson, Conservative MP for Hornchurch and Upminster
12. Lilian Greenwood, Labour MP for Nottingham South
13. Sir William Cash, Conservative MP for Stone
14. William Wragg, Conservative MP for Hazel Grove
15. Heidi Allen, Conservative MP for South Cambridgeshire
16. Vicky Foxcroft, Labour MP for Lewisham, Deptford
17. Mark Pawsey, Conservative MP for Rugby
18. Mr Geoffrey Cox, Conservative MP for Torridge and West Devon
19. James Cleverly, Consevative MP for Braintree
20. Caroline Ansell, Conservative MP for Eastbourne

The ballot for Private Members’ Bills presents an opportunity for MPs to be one of the first to introduce a Private Members Bill, on a subject of their choice, in the 2015-16 session. Those drawn higher in the ballot are more likely to get time to debate their Bill.

Presentation of Bills

The Ballot Bills will have their first reading in the House of Commons on Wednesday 24 June 2015 and will then be considered on sitting Fridays. Time for debating Private Members' Bills is limited to 13 Fridays in each session of Parliament.

The following Fridays have been set for discussion of Private Members’ Bills in 2015-16:

11 September 2015
16 October 2015
23 October 2015
30 October 2015
6 November 2015
20 November 2015
4 December 2015
22 January 2016
29 January 2016
5 February 2016
26 February 2016
4 March 2016
11 March 2016

Related information

Success of Private Members' Ballot Bills

The following were Private Members' Bills from the ballot that became law in the 2014-15 Parliamentary session:

What are Private Members' Bills?

Private Members' Bills are Public Bills introduced by MPs and Lords who are not government ministers. As with other Public Bills their purpose is to change the law as it applies to the general population. A minority of Private Members' Bills become law.

There are three ways in which a Member can table a Private Members' Bill but Ballot Bills have the best chance of becoming law, as they get priority for the limited amount of debating time available.

The names of Members applying for a Bill are drawn in a ballot held at the beginning of the parliamentary year. Normally, the first seven ballot Bills get a day's debate.

Image: Parliamentary Copyright

This article was produced by the Commons Digital Outreach Team. Follow the @HouseofCommons on Twitter for updates on the UK House of Commons Chamber.

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, Commons news, Legislative process

Share this page