MPs debate the 2014 Queen's Speech

MPs debate the 2014 Queen's Speech
04 June 2014

Her Majesty the Queen delivered the Speech from the Lords Chamber outlining the Government's legislative programme for the parliamentary year ahead, on Wednesday 4 June 2014. MPs then began six days of debate on the contents of the Speech.

Debate on the Address

The first day of the Debate on the Address, as it is known, is general in tone, the other four days are on specific topics. This is the first debate of the new session and it normally lasts for five days.

The motion for the debate is phrased as 'an Humble Address' to Her Majesty thanking her for her gracious speech.

Queen's Speech 2014 proposer and seconder

The task of proposing and seconding the motion is regarded as an honour and is given to two government backbench MPs.

They are normally a contrasting pair with very different constituencies, one a relative new MP and the other a long-serving MP. By convention, their speeches are not contentious and contain both humour and flattering references to their constituencies.

This year the proposer is Penny Mordaunt, Conservative MP for Portsmouth North. The seconder is Annette Brooke, Liberal Democrat MP for Mid Dorset and North Poole. This will be the first time that both the proposer and the seconder have been women.

The Leader of the Opposition, Edward Miliband, will respond on behalf of the Opposition. The Prime Minister, David Cameron, will reply on behalf of the Government.

House of Commons subjects for debate

The Debate on the Address will focus on the following subjects over the course of the next five sitting days:

Watching debates from the public gallery

UK residents and overseas visitors can watch proceedings for free in the House of Commons by visiting the public gallery.

Image: Parliamentary copyright

This article was produced by the Commons Digital Outreach Team. Follow the @HouseofCommons on Twitter for updates on the UK House of Commons Chamber.

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, Commons news

Share this page