Details of Deputy Speaker election announced

08 October 2013

The Speaker of the House of Commons, John Bercow, has announced the arrangements for MPs to elect a new Deputy Speaker on Wednesday 16 October 2013. The post of Deputy Speaker became vacant after the resignation of Nigel Evans from the role

Nominations to fill the vacancy must be received in writing between 10am and 5pm on Tuesday 15 October.

Only Conservative or Liberal Democrat MPs will be eligible for nomination in order to maintain the party balance between the Deputy Speakers.

If more than one nomination is submitted, the secret ballot will be held in the Aye lobby between 11.30am and 2pm on Wednesday 16 October, using the Single Transferable Vote system.

Mr Speaker will announce the results of the ballot to the House as soon as practicable after the votes have been counted.
The Deputy Speaker will be elected for the duration of this Parliament.

Further Information

House of Commons Library paper

The House of Commons Library produces briefing papers to inform MPs of key issues. The papers contain factual information and a range of opinions on each subject, and aim to be politically impartial.

Watching the ballot results from the public gallery

UK residents and overseas visitors can watch proceedings in the House of Commons by visiting the public gallery.

This article was produced by the Commons Digital Outreach Team. Follow the @HouseofCommons on Twitter for updates on the UK House of Commons Chamber.

Image: Parliamentary copyright

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, House of Commons news, Speaker news, Commons news

Share this page