Government reshuffle changes

04 September 2012

The composition of the Her Majesty's Government has changed following the reshuffle of the Cabinet and other Ministerial posts.


A reshuffle provides the Prime Minister an opportunity to change the composition of the Cabinet and Ministerial posts. In May 2010, the Conservative and Liberal Democrat parties formed a coalition government. This is the first time a major change has been made to ministerial posts since the formation of the Government.

HM Government list

A full list of Her Majesty's Government including Government Departments and Ministers can be found on the Parliament website.

The Cabinet

The Cabinet is the committee at the centre of the British political system and is the supreme decision-making body in government. The following list contains the principal members of the Cabinet.

Prime Minister, First Lord of the Treasury and Minister for the Civil Service
Rt Hon David Cameron MP (Con)

Deputy Prime Minister, Lord President of the Council (with special responsibility for political and constitutional reform)
Rt Hon Nick Clegg MP (LD)

First Secretary of State, Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs
Rt Hon William Hague MP (Con)

Chancellor of the Exchequer
Rt Hon George Osborne MP (Con)

Lord Chancellor, Secretary of State for Justice
Rt Hon Chris Grayling MP (Con)

Secretary of State for the Home Department; and Minister for Women and Equalities
Rt Hon Theresa May MP (Con)
Secretary of State for Defence
Rt Hon Philip Hammond MP (Con)

Secretary of State for Business, Innovation and Skills
Rt Hon Dr Vincent Cable MP (LD)

Secretary of State for Work and Pensions
Rt Hon Iain Duncan Smith MP (Con)

Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change
Rt Hon Mr Edward Davey MP (LD)

Secretary of State for Health
Rt Hon Jeremy Hunt MP (Con)

Secretary of State for Education
Rt Hon Michael Gove MP (Con)

Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government
Rt Hon Eric Pickles MP (Con)

Secretary of State for Transport
Rt Hon Patrick McLoughlin MP (Con)

Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
Rt Hon Owen Paterson MP (Con)

Secretary of State for International Development
Rt Hon Justine Greening MP (Con)

Secretary of State for Culture, Olympics, Media and Sport
Maria Miller MP (Con)
Secretary of State for Northern Ireland
Rt Hon Theresa Villiers MP (Con)

Secretary of State for Scotland (and providing ministerial support to the Deputy Prime Minister in the Cabinet Office)
Rt Hon Michael Moore MP (LD)
Secretary of State for Wales
David Jones MP (Con)

Chief Secretary to the Treasury
Rt Hon Danny Alexander MP (LD)

Minister without Portfolio (Minister of State)
Rt Hon Kenneth Clarke QC MP (Con)

Leader of the House of Lords, Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster
Rt Hon Lord Strathclyde (Con)

Minister without Portfolio (Minister of State); Chairmen of the Conservative Party
Rt Hon Grant Shapps MP (Con)

Also attending Cabinet meetings

Minister for the Cabinet Office and Paymaster General
Rt Hon Francis Maude MP (Con)

Minister for Government Policy
Rt Hon Oliver Letwin MP (Con)
Minister of State (Universities and Science) – Department for Business, Innovation and Skills
Rt Hon David Willetts MP (Con)
Leader of the House of Commons, Lord Privy Seal
Rt Hon Andrew Lansley CBE MP

Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasury and Chief Whip
Rt Hon Andrew Mitchell MP (Con)

Senior Minister of State (Jointly Foreign and Commonwealth Office and Department for Communities and Local Government)
Rt Hon Baroness Warsi (Con) 

Minister of State (Jointly Cabinet Office and Department for Education)
Rt Hon David Laws MP (LD)

Image: iStockphoto  

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Central government, Parliament, Members of Parliament, Commons news, Political parties, Ministers

Share this page