Youth Select Committee

03 July 2012

The Youth Select Committee, launched in April by the British Youth Council with support from the House of Commons, is conducting an inquiry into public transport and will be holding its first oral evidence sessions in the Boothroyd Room, Portcullis House on Friday 6 July and Friday 13 July.

Public transport was identified as a priority by the UK Youth Parliament in 2011. The terms of reference for the inquiry are: ‘to inquire into issues and concerns around safe, affordable and accessible transport for young people and make recommendations to decision makers to address them.’ The Youth Select Committee will publish the report in September 2012 with a Government response to follow.
The Youth Select Committee mirrors the UK Parliament Select Committee structure and gives young people the opportunity to scrutinise and hold enquiries into topics of importance to them. The Youth Select Committee has received advice from Members of the House of Commons Transport Select Committee. Youth Select Committee Members have also received induction training and mentoring from Parliamentary Clerks and British Youth Council staff.


Friday 6 July 2012, Boothroyd Room, Portcullis House

At 10.15am, Panel 1

  • Norman Baker MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State (Regional and Local Transport), Department for Transport
  • Tim Loughton MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State (Children and Families), Department for Education

At 11am, Panel 2

  • Transport for London (TfL)
  • Passenger Transport Executive Group (Pteg)
  • Dales Integrated Transport Alliance

At 11.45am, Panel 3

  • Staffordshire Youth Council
  • Hertfordshire Youth Council
  • Suffolk Youth Council / UKYP Representatives

The session is expected to conclude by 12.30pm.

Friday 13 July 2012, Boothroyd Room, Portcullis House

At 10.15am, Panel 1

  • Passenger Focus
  • Campaign for Better Transport
  • Transport Studies Unit – Oxford University  

At 11am, Panel 2

  • Whizz-Kids
  • BBC Children in Need
  • RNIB

At 11.45am, Panel 3

  • Sustrans
  • Brake
  • Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport in the UK (CILT)

The session is expected to conclude by 12.30pm.

At the session the Youth Select Committee will hear from interested parties who submitted evidence following its call for submissions on Public Transport. The Youth Select Committee is made up of 11 young people aged 18 and under, and includes both elected and reserved seats to ensure a broad representation of interests from all parts of the UK. Select Committee is part of the Youth Voice initiative, supported by Positive for Youth.

Committee Membership

  • DARA FARRELL (18), Vice-Chair of Campaigns & Communications at the British Youth Council
  • CHANTE JOSEPH (15), Member of the UK Youth Parliament for the London Borough of Brent
  • BENJAMIN FARNES (16), Member of the UK Youth Parliament for Hampshire
  • KAY POON (18), Youth Forum member for Edmonton
  • HAMZA JAHAMZEB (18), Member of Lancashire Youth Council and Hyndburn Youth Council
  • JADE HOPE (15), Young Mayor for North Tyneside
  • JAMES HUMPHRY (17), Member of the Cardiff Youth Forum and the Welsh Youth Parliament (Funky Dragon)
  • JACK McCANN (17), Member of the Northern Ireland Youth Forum
  • JACK GREEN (16), Member of the Scottish Youth Parliament and Young Scot
  • JESSICA CHEADLE (14), Member of Staffordshire Scouts
  • GABRIELLE OHLSEN (17), Member of the UK Youth Parliament for Honiton, Tiverton and East Devon

Image: iStockphoto

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, Commons news, Transport, Education

Share this page