New Lord Speaker

01 September 2011

Baroness D'Souza officially takes office as the second Lord Speaker elected by Members of the House of Lords on Thursday 1 September.

She succeeds Baroness Hayman who became the first Lord Speaker in 2006.

Baroness D'Souza will preside over a sitting of the House of Lords for the first time on Monday 5 September.

Lord Laming succeeds Baroness D'Souza as the Convenor of the Crossbench Peers.

Further information

Image: Parliamentary copyright

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, House of Lords news, Lord Speaker news, Lords news, Parliamentary business

Share this page