Jon Ashworth new MP for Leicester South

MP jon ashworth
07 May 2011

Jon Ashworth of the Labour Party has become Member of Parliament for Leicester South after winning the by-election held in that Constituency on 5 May 2011.

Leicester South was the third by-election held since the 2010 General Election. There were 5 candidates on the ballot paper.

The by-election was called after the former MP, Sir Peter Soulsby, vacated his seat.

By-election results

Jon Ashworth, Labour: 19,771
Zuffar Haq, Liberal Democrat: 7,693
Jane Hunt, Conservative: 5,169
Abhijit Pandya, UKIP: 994
Howling Laud Hope, Monster Raving Loony Party: 553

Image: iStockphoto 

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Elections, Parliament, House of Commons news, Members of Parliament, Commons news, By-elections

Share this page