Mr Speaker congratulates winners of Parliamentary Press Gallery writing competition

winners of the writing competition with Mr Speaker
09 March 2011

On Tuesday 8 March, Mr Speaker presented winners of the Parliamentary Press Gallery writing competition with their certificates

He was joined by Carolyn Quinn, the Chairman of the Press Gallery and Elizabeth Johnson, the Press Gallery administrator, who are both pictured.

The Parliamentary Press Gallery, supported by Dods, the Parliamentary Education Service and the Association of School and College Leaders runs the competition annually to promote awareness and discussion of the values of parliamentary democracy and the political process.

The competition is divided into two age groups: school years 10-11 and 12-13. 

The winners in the first age group were: Syriol Benissan of St Marylebone School, London; Calum Brydon-Leigh of Earlston High School, Scottish Borders; Sarah Haddad or Tiffin Girls School, Kingston, Surrey; Fergus McCluskey of Cardinal Wiseman School, Greenford, Middlesex; and Aidan Smith of Birkdale School, Sheffield.

The overall winner in this group was Harriet Hughes of Marist School, Ascot. These young writers had to imagine they were one the party leaders writing an e-mail to their party members.

The winners in the second age group were: Nathan Akehurst, Holland Park School, London; Ceri Morgan, Ysgol Gyfun Gymraeg Bryn Tawe, Swansea; Nikita Sinclair, Withington Girls School, Manchester; Emily Troup, Tiffin Girls School, Kingston, Surrey; and Thomas Williams  of Carmel College, St. Helens, Lancashire.  The overall winner in this group was Max Burman of St Marylebone School, London.

Mr Speaker congratulate the winners and guests at the Speaker's House and presented the winners with framed certificates, and presented trophies to the overall winners in each age group.

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, Speaker news

Share this page