Bribery and corruption debate

18 March 2011

The House of Lords debated the UK’s record on tackling bribery, tax avoidance, corruption and money laundering on Thursday 17 March.

Baroness Williams of Crosby (Liberal Democrat), former Secretary of State for Prices and Consumer Protection and former Paymaster General, opened the debate.

Other Members who took part included:

  • Lord Oakeshott (Liberal Democrat), former Treasury spokesperson in the House of Lords
  • Lord Eatwell (Labour), professor of financial policy at Cambridge University and former economic adviser to the leader of the Labour Party 
  • Lord Newby (Liberal Democrat), co-chair of the Liberal Democrat Treasury Parliamentary Committee, who previously worked for HM Customs & Excise and was a member of the Lords Economic Affairs Committee on the Financial Bill 2004 
  • Baroness Wheatcroft (Conservative), former editor of the Sunday Telegraph and Wall Street Journal Europe and former non-executive director of Barclays plc 
  • Lord Hannay of Chiswick (Crossbench), former UN ambassador and former member of the EU Sub-Committee on Economic and Financial affairs 
  • Lord Parekh (Labour), emeritus professor of politics at the London School of Economics and emeritus professor of philosophy at Westminster University 
  • Lord Goodhart (Liberal Democrat), former member of the Lords Economic Affairs Committee and of the Tax Law Rewrite Bills Joint Committee
  • Lord Davies of Oldham (Labour), economics graduate and opposition spokesperson for the HM Treasury

Lord Thomas of Gresford, Lord Phillips of Sudbury, Lord Palmer of Childs Hill, Baroness Falkner of Margravine, Lord Marks of Henley on Thames, Lord McFall of Alcluith, Lord Haskel, and Lord Dykes also contributed. Lord Sassoon responded on behalf of the government.

Image: iStockphoto

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, House of Lords news, Lords news, Parliamentary business

Share this page