Paul Maskey new MP for Belfast West

10 June 2011

Paul Maskey of Sein Fein has become the Member of Parliament for Belfast West after winning the by-election held in that Constituency on 9 June 2011.

Belfast West was the fourth by-election held since the 2010 General Election. There were 6 candidates on the ballot paper.

The by-election was called after the former MP, Gerry Adams, vacated his seat.

By-election results

Paul Maskey, Sinn Féin 16,211 
Alex Attwood, SDLP 3,088
Gerry Carroll, People Before Profit Alliance 1,751
Brian Kingston, DUP 1,393
Bill Manwaring, UUP 386 
Aaron McIntyre, Alliance 122

Majority 13,123
Turnout 23,057

Image: PA


More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Elections, Parliament, Members of Parliament, Commons news, Northern Ireland, By-elections

Share this page